AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: _AMD Athlon ql-60 don`t work with AOD. Help!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/14/2009 12:26 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/14/2009 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Artemius
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/14/2009

Hello. Me such question interests: why on my laptop ACER ASPIRE 5530 (602G16MI, Athlon QL-60, North bridge:ATI RS780M, South bridge: ATI SB700) program AMD Overdrive is not started? At attempt to start this program, the laptop freez. Tried versions of program AOD 2.15, 2.16. The drivers and BIOS there are the latest (tried also the previous versions of drivers)!!! Started as the administrator, tried to start programs for enthusiasts: SetFSB, amdclock, ClockGen, Ati Tray Tool, CBid, RivaTuner, RMClock various versions - helps to disperse nothing system (I understand that I operate at own risk!!!), such feeling that programs simply cannot co-operate with system. I can not understand, it can because of processor Athlon ql-60 or blocking at level bios?
Please, help!
Sorry for my English.

Edited: 03/14/2009 at 12:42 PM by Artemius
 03/22/2009 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
miner
Senior Member

Posts: 500
Joined: 02/22/2005

AOD requires proper bios support as well as it was meant for the desktop platform with the 780G/HD3200 & newer chipset based platforms. So, yeah it doesnt always work correctly with the mobile variants. Its not the cpu, AOD fails to start with my Turion ZM as well. Did you try one of the hacks out there to force it to work, other than that not much AFAIK can be done.

-------------------------
HP Pavilion TX2500..AMD Turion X2 Ultra ZM-86, 3GB DDR2 800, 320GB 5400rpm SATA, ATi Radeon HD3200/M780G.
 04/15/2009 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otep_0626
Lurker

Posts: 23
Joined: 01/31/2008

Its the processor. Our processor QL-60 is not supported by those programs youve mentioned. Im also looking for a software that can control the multiplier and cpu voltage, unfortunately theres none. With regards to AOD, my system got bsod when using it.

-------------------------
Gateway EC13N01i
Athlon II Neo x2 Mobility Radeon 4225
NB 785gx SB 850 2gb DDR3
 04/15/2009 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

AOD is an overclocking utility. Notebooks/laptops have limited cooling capability as is. I'm not even 50% sure of whether or not AOD is supported with your system but I'd highly reccomend not overclocking your system.

You paid a premium to get portable performance. If you need the extra clockspeed, try ebay for some used CPUs to replace what you have now, not overclock what you have. BIOS limitations probably have your system locked-down anyway, so that's you're best bet right now. Upgrading from a QL-60 should be easy enough, since performance-wise, it's towards the bottom of the barrel.

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse
 04/16/2009 08:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

Try using AMD Fusion instead

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
 04/16/2009 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

lol ^^

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse
 04/16/2009 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blackshard
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/19/2009

I managed to let AMD Overdrive on my notebook (hp dv5-1025el) with turion ZM processor. Then I updated bios (from original release F.07 to newer release F.23) and AOD now freezes my laptop. It looks that HP broke support for AOD someway in bios. This is really a bad thing, since I used it to monitor my system settings and never tried to overclock (that's extremely dangerous in a laptop).
 04/17/2009 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

There is an abundance of other monitoring tools you can use besides AOD. Some provide more info, some provide less, but you can find a replacement utility relatively easy.

If all you want to monitor is temps, Speedfan gives me all the info I really need.

If you can't find a replacement, you could always just flash the BIOS back..

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information