AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows Vista in AMD Turion 64 X2 CPU Usage High
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/25/2009 12:51 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/25/2009 12:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
m.ram.pai
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/25/2009

Hi,

I had recently purchased an HP Pavilion tx 2000 notebook with AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology processor. What I have noticed is that even when idle the explorer.exe uses unbelievable amount of CPU. I have checked the Vista forums and could not come up with anything. Has any one of you faced this problem? If so can you please help??
 04/25/2009 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

remove all from Indexing options and disable superfetch and remove all but antivirus from startup and then it stops.

I use the dual core Atom and I had the same problem on my laptop until I did this.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/25/2009 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Check with Process Explorer if anything that should not be there is eating capacity.

Virus and malware scans performed, clean?

-------------------------
 04/25/2009 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

Once you get your laptop you should try to uninstall bloatware to eliminate unnessary software issue.
It can be due to a poorly written software that HP included that causes this.
Try to uninstall everything except device drivers.

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information