AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Desktop Turion - any chipset better than the othes
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/08/2005 05:59 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2005 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bob4432
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/08/2005

is there any chipset that works better with a turion for the desktop? sis, via, ali, uli, nvidia? need one that supports agp, that is about it.

-------------------------
BF2 Ram Usage' ">http://bf2hardware.sytes.net:6583
 11/08/2005 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

QUOTE(bob4432 @ Nov 8 2005, 03:59 PM)is there any chipset that works better with a turion for the desktop?  sis, via, ali, uli, nvidia?  need one that supports agp, that is about it.
[right][snapback]541243[/snapback][/right]


I wouldnt say their is exactly one chipset that is better than another, but for the Turions I have heard people have had great luck with the DFI Nf3 250 boards. So I assume that the Nforce 3 250 chipset is pretty accepting of the Turion. Maybe its best to contact the mobo manufacturer to make sure.
 11/08/2005 08:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bob4432
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/08/2005

QUOTE(bvchurch @ Nov 8 2005, 05:43 PM)I wouldnt say their is exactly one chipset that is better than another, but for the Turions I have heard people have had great luck with the DFI Nf3 250 boards.  So I assume that the Nforce 3 250 chipset is pretty accepting of the Turion.  Maybe its best to contact the mobo manufacturer to make sure.
[right][snapback]541302[/snapback][/right]


i have but a lot of the sites make you fill out all types of information regarding what m/b you are asking about and my general question was not getting through. that is why i asked here and see what actual users have had experience with.

i too have heard that the dfi board is good and in theory i have read that any rev E skt 754 capable board will work, but want to verify before i put down the $$$

-------------------------
BF2 Ram Usage' ">http://bf2hardware.sytes.net:6583
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information