AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron driver
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/04/2005 10:54 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/04/2005 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smolden
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/04/2005

When I try to download the driver for Mobile Sempron (for Windows XP Professional) I actually get an Athlon64 driver. I think there must be an error on the driver download page.


Sturla Molden
 10/04/2005 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

No errors there.

Mobile Athlon 64 and Mobile Sempron processors are based on the same architecture and hence they can use exactly the same driver /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/04/2005 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smolden
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/04/2005

The AMD CPU Info program says there is no 64 bit support on my processor (Mobile Sempron 2800+).

I thought Sempron was based on AthlonXP?
 10/04/2005 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTEThe AMD CPU Info program says there is no 64 bit support on my processor (Mobile Sempron 2800+).
64-bit capability is disabled on current Mobile Sempron models as they're targetted at the value segment - given the current number of available 64-bit applications, 64-bit capability is not yet required for that segment.

They're still based off the Athlon 64's architecture...just without 64-bit capability /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />
QUOTEI thought Sempron was based on AthlonXP?
That is only true for Socket A (462) Desktop parts.

ALL Mobile Semprons as well as the 754-pin Desktop models are based off the Athlon 64's architecture.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/04/2005 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smolden
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/04/2005

I guess you are right. My laptop seems to be running on the Athlon64 driver. Amazing.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information