AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 667 MHz DDR2 for MK-36 possible? Benefits from Dual-Channel?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/07/2006 06:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2006 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reischltom
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/07/2006

Hello,

I bought a Acer Aspire 5051 with MK-36 and 512 MB DDR2-533 MHz on one SO-DIMM.

As I want to upgrade memory to 1 GB, I was reading through some webpages, and found out that DDR2-533 is running only with 500 MHz if Turion-Clock is 2 Ghz (see http://hardware.thgweb.de/2006...md-t...book/page2.html (GERMAN) ).

Now I'm wondering if it is better to upgrade to 2 modules 512 MB 533 Mhz or buy one 667 MHz module with 1 GB instead. Or better 2 modules 512 MB 533 Mhz?

I think the two modules have to be the same size and speed rating, right?

Can the MK-36 even handle 667 MHz DDR2? I have not found ANY information about that CPU on the AMD website

How much benefit brings dual channel with Turion and Integrated Graphics (ATI Radeon X1100)?

Will there be a significant difference in battery life (1 vs. 2 Modules, 533 vs. 667 Mhz)?

Thanks for comments!

Kind regards
Thomas Reischl
 11/23/2006 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimmyJOe
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: reischltom
Hello,

I bought a Acer Aspire 5051 with MK-36 and 512 MB DDR2-533 MHz on one SO-DIMM.

As I want to upgrade memory to 1 GB, I was reading through some webpages, and found out that DDR2-533 is running only with 500 MHz if Turion-Clock is 2 Ghz (see http://hardware.thgweb.de/2006...md-t...book/page2.html (GERMAN) ).

Now I'm wondering if it is better to upgrade to 2 modules 512 MB 533 Mhz or buy one 667 MHz module with 1 GB instead. Or better 2 modules 512 MB 533 Mhz?

I think the two modules have to be the same size and speed rating, right?

Can the MK-36 even handle 667 MHz DDR2? I have not found ANY information about that CPU on the AMD website

How much benefit brings dual channel with Turion and Integrated Graphics (ATI Radeon X1100)?

Will there be a significant difference in battery life (1 vs. 2 Modules, 533 vs. 667 Mhz)?

Thanks for comments!

Kind regards
Thomas Reischl



Well, this Turion can handle the 677 modules, but the performance difference between 533 and 677 is minimal because faster modules have higher latency. You are right, your 533 RAM is running at 2x250 MHz because the bus speed of the CPU is 200 MHz. To get 100 % utilitation of the ram you should have 667 MHz modules. But dont worry, it is not worth spending. You should experience some performance gains after upgrading to 1 G, but nothing significant. There should not be huge impact on battery life since a ram module eats up some 1,3 W.

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information