Increase font size
Topic Title: Turion 64bit x2 for Acer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/01/2006 03:29 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/01/2006 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
{tek(dude)}

back in february i started learning about the AMD Turion 64bit x2 mobile processor and learned that AMD will be releasing it for Acer, and many other companys, but im mainly focusing on acer. I'm looking for a Mainstream Multimedia Notebook it is now early august and only two computers from acer have the Turion processor so far. i have looked at many HP notebooks but have my sights set on acer. the only acer notebooks that have it are the Farrari, and aspire 5000, the Fararri is out of my price range and the 5000 is a pretty bad notebook other than the processor.

does anyone know of any date that acer will have more notebooks equiped with the turion x2? i've heard by October 23rd AMD will be releasing to a wider range, but thats it.

i have been waiting for a while and getting annoyed, please post if you know anything on this subject

-------------------------
Asks for help sometimes, gives help a lot.
 08/01/2006 07:22 PM

Author Icon
Turion_64

Hi,

I would wait it out a bit.

I purchased a Turion 64 HP laptop back in December... Since Turion 64 X2 is fairly new and you like Acer a lot, I would recommend waiting till next year.

Why,

I have found through many reviews that most Turion laptops are the same outside of chipsets. I have been so lucky to find that my laptop can run any 64 bit OS out there without much problem finding drivers.

Not all laptops are as lucky.

Second, my laptop is about the same as a Farrari without the high price. The only difference is that it uses ATI chipset (Video included) and it does not have carbon fibre body.