AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows2003(32-bit) on AMD Turion 64
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/01/2006 02:09 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/01/2006 02:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sathya
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/01/2006

Hi experts,
I'm going to buy a new notebook powered with AMD turion64 processor.
Will i face any software problems if I load windows2003(32-bit) OS on it?
What all things should I keep in mind when I go for purchase?

Sathya.
 04/03/2006 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kirbalo
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 06/22/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: sathya
Hi experts,
I'm going to buy a new notebook powered with AMD turion64 processor.
Will i face any software problems if I load windows2003(32-bit) OS on it?
What all things should I keep in mind when I go for purchase?

Sathya.



I'm curious as to what Windows 2003 would "buy" you over XP Pro on a laptop...

I would suspect you'll have driver issues, but it's only a guess, as I've never heard of anyone doing this and having either success or failure...

-------------------------
My Rigs:

Athlon 64 3400+ (CG) @ 2.4GHz, Asus K8N-E Deluxe, 2 GB OCZ DDR400, BFG nVidia 6800OC 128MB, Seagate 200GB PATA, Seagate 160GB PATA, Dual Boot XP and x64, Antec 350W Mid-Tower

Athlon 64 3400+ (E3) @ 2.4GHz, Asus K8N-E Deluxe, 2 GB OCZ DDR400, eVGA nVidia 6800 128MB, Seagate 320GB SATA, Vista x64, Antec 350W Mid-Tower
 04/21/2006 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDFIRE
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 04/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: sathya
Hi experts,
I'm going to buy a new notebook powered with AMD turion64 processor.
Will i face any software problems if I load windows2003(32-bit) OS on it?
What all things should I keep in mind when I go for purchase?

Sathya.



i have windows 32bit on my amd 64 3200+? no driver issues.. no bugs.. faster.. uhuh ..
hope this helps
 04/24/2006 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambath
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/21/2006

Hello Sathya,
iam using a AMD turion64 processor w/ windows 2003 installed on it. ( previously it had xp media).
everything works well except the audio card. i have tried all available drivers but nothing seems to work.
if you have already solved it, pls let me know how you solved it as your post is almost a month old.

Thank you,
Sam


quote:

Originally posted by: sathya
Hi experts,
I'm going to buy a new notebook powered with AMD turion64 processor.
Will i face any software problems if I load windows2003(32-bit) OS on it?
What all things should I keep in mind when I go for purchase?

Sathya.


Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information