AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Turion 64 vs Athlon 64
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2006 09:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/10/2006 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xelink
Senior Member

Posts: 225
Joined: 03/03/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: 4nDr3s
So what u saying is that the turion is a better procesor than the athlon.
But if i compare the processing speed of centrino vs a pentium 4, the pentium 4 is way better than the centrino, and its more powerfull because centrino has less processing speed. so what i wanna know is that if turion 64 has the same difference of powerfullness than the athlon 64, or if the difference just is the less power consuption and is more heat effectient or there's any other difference.

And for example athlon 64 allows me to use 2gb of Ram, and turion 64 just 1gb of ram ddr2 memory, so ...help me decide!!1



you, my friend, are an idiot.

Intel is replacing the P4s with a dual core version of the pentium M. THe PM is more powerful the the P4 in most cases. The centrino computers 12 calculations per clock while the P4 performs only 6 (12 for arithmetic functions due to the double clocked ALU) so 12*2.1Ghz > 6*3.8

I beleive all 754 procs can support up to 2GB of ram.

At this time, no AMD chip supports DDR2, and they actually get slightly better performance under DDR400 then under DDR2 667 due to tighter ltencies.

From what I know though, the Turions ARE NOT regular A64s but have improved core architecture given their typical uses in a laptop.


-------------------------

--C2D e6400@3.2GHz 1.264V; 2Gb DDR2-800 RAM 4-4-3-6; 250GB seagate baracuda w/ PRM; GeForce 7600GT(620/800)
--AMD Athlon 64 3000+; 512mb DDR400 ram; GeForce 6100, 80GB seagate baracuda 7200rpm 8mb cache
 03/17/2006 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
howellbp
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/17/2006

Don't know if this is on-topic or not, but does the same rule about power consumption and heat efficiency apply to Semprons?

I have a Sempron 3000+ 32-bit in my laptop right now, but am considering upgrading to either a Sempron 64 or a Turion. I don't need greater than 2.0GHz, so an MT-32 would suit me fine...other than cache, is either processor better at power efficiency or heat dissipation?

-------------------------
Laptop: Acer Aspire AS3003WLCi, Sempron 3000+ 32-bit, 1.12GB DDR333 (128MB Shared)
Desktop: ASUS A7N8X, Barton 2500+ @ 2800+, DDR400 1GB (2x512MB)

 03/17/2006 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
miner
Senior Member

Posts: 500
Joined: 02/22/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: HowellBP
Don't know if this is on-topic or not, but does the same rule about power consumption and heat efficiency apply to Semprons?

I have a Sempron 3000+ 32-bit in my laptop right now, but am considering upgrading to either a Sempron 64 or a Turion. I don't need greater than 2.0GHz, so an MT-32 would suit me fine...other than cache, is either processor better at power efficiency or heat dissipation?



Yes, there are 2 versions of the Sempron one which consumes the same power as the Turion and has the same TDP of 25W. You can upgrade these processors to a Turion(ofcourse keeping in mind that the BIOS is capable of supporting the Turion).

The other version consumes around the same power as the Athlon64 and is usually rated at a TDP of 62W.

-------------------------
HP Pavilion TX2500..AMD Turion X2 Ultra ZM-86, 3GB DDR2 800, 320GB 5400rpm SATA, ATi Radeon HD3200/M780G.
 03/17/2006 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
howellbp
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/17/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: miner
Yes, there are 2 versions of the Sempron one which consumes the same power as the Turion and has the same TDP of 25W. You can upgrade these processors to a Turion(ofcourse keeping in mind that the BIOS is capable of supporting the Turion).

The other version consumes around the same power as the Athlon64 and is usually rated at a TDP of 62W.



Understood. So I should be on the lookout for anything that says "Mobile" explicitely, then, if I'm mindful of power?

I also noticed that your sig says you have (had?) an AS3003WLCi...that's the same model laptop I have. Were you able to upgrade the processor while you owned it?

-------------------------
Laptop: Acer Aspire AS3003WLCi, Sempron 3000+ 32-bit, 1.12GB DDR333 (128MB Shared)
Desktop: ASUS A7N8X, Barton 2500+ @ 2800+, DDR400 1GB (2x512MB)

 03/17/2006 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
miner
Senior Member

Posts: 500
Joined: 02/22/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: HowellBP
Understood. So I should be on the lookout for anything that says "Mobile" explicitely, then, if I'm mindful of power?

I also noticed that your sig says you have (had?) an AS3003WLCi...that's the same model laptop I have. Were you able to upgrade the processor while you owned it?



I sold my Acer and didnt upgrade the cpu. But some others have and seem to work out well for them...
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=66752

Identifying the 25W Sempron is not easy, you will have to figure it out either by looking at the OPN number as both the 25W and 62W versions are called mobile. The only software that could identify the processor correctly was Central Brain Identifyer(CBID). It should let you know whether you have the low voltage version or not.

-------------------------
HP Pavilion TX2500..AMD Turion X2 Ultra ZM-86, 3GB DDR2 800, 320GB 5400rpm SATA, ATi Radeon HD3200/M780G.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information