AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking a Turion
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/27/2007 05:58 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/27/2007 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
diabolic53
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/29/2006

Does anyone know of a method of overcloking a Turion Mk 36??... can it be donne ?? tryed Clockgen but when i tryed to reduce the procesor's frequency the sistem froze and i had to shut down the laptop( acer aspire 5101 with x1100 chipset) manualy
 01/29/2007 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aggiebroz
Member

Posts: 66
Joined: 05/09/2006

CLockgen is the only way i know of to overclock a laptop unless the BIOS supports overclocking. Generally you can't get very good OC 's with laptops. my turion ml 37 can only OC 150 mhz stabily but loses stability at 200mhz oc due to running over 70C, even raising the voltage didn't help.

now you might be able to gain some gaming performance by OCing your graphics card.
 01/30/2007 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
diabolic53
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/29/2006

OCing the graphics card doesn't have to much efect ... and the temp of my procesor doesn't ghet past 46-47C so that's why i thought an overclock might be ok ...
 02/01/2007 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aggiebroz
Member

Posts: 66
Joined: 05/09/2006

another tip for you. make sure you have your windows power profile to always on to disable cpu AMD PowerNow. Or you can download the program rmclock, it lests you create custom power profile or you can set to a constant multiplier. Also get a64 tweaker and see if lowering your memory speed allows you to make the fsb faster. Also are you sure you have clockgen set for the correct clock generator.

really your not going to get that much extra performance out a laptop. your not going to notice a performance difference with the kind of oc you can get in a laptop and gaming wont improve since the x1100 graphics isn't going to be good no matter what you do.

some upgrades that migh be helpful though would be ram and a 7200 rpm hard drive, thats what i did to my acer ferrari 4005 and it made it run alot better, occaisionaly i oc the x700 but i don't bother with the cpu anymore since it wasn't worth it.
 02/03/2007 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
diabolic53
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/29/2006

thx for the advice... i thought about changing the hdd couse this one is a little slow ...and i whant to by a Ram module as well .. thing is ... what do you remomend 1G +512 that i allready have or 512 +512 in dualchannel ???
 02/03/2007 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aggiebroz
Member

Posts: 66
Joined: 05/09/2006

well i haven't had experience with dual channel so i can't comment on its gains. I started with two 512s then i took one out and added 1 gig so now i have 1.5 gig. one gig was good for most games but stuff like bf2 and a few others hog a lot of ram and now runs better with the 1.5. Also if you think you might be upgrading to vista in the near future then i would advise on more than a gig.
 02/15/2007 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
urbanetexan
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/15/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: diabolic53
Does anyone know of a method of overcloking a Turion Mk 36??... can it be donne ?? tryed Clockgen but when i tryed to reduce the procesor's frequency the sistem froze and i had to shut down the laptop( acer aspire 5101 with x1100 chipset) manualy



You might try CrystalCPUID. This program can change the Core Voltage and the multipliers.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information