AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Turion 64x2 TL60 upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/15/2008 12:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/15/2008 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
000Max
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/15/2008

Hi there
I'm new to all this...so any good advise would be appreciated.
Currently have Dell Inspiron, 1501 TL-60 2G and would like to upgrade to TL-66 2.3G.
Can this be done? and will it be worth it?
Thanks
 01/24/2008 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SolnzeUSB
Deprecated

Posts: 259
Joined: 02/20/2007

10% upgrade, why bother? Don't waste the money, it does not necessary mean you will see the difference. Also, there is TL-68 around, but probably exponentially more expensive. Wait until you can get at least 25% performance increase. It's not like you are going from TL-50 to TL-66/68 -- now that would be a nice 32%/36% upgrade. Instead get a 2GB or 4GB SD card or USB drive and get ReadyBoost going. You will probably see some difference (assuming you got Vista).

-------------------------
"Freedom in capitalist society always remains about the same as it was in ancient Greek republics: Freedom for slave owners." V.I.Lenin

HP tx1000 | Touch-screen | TL-64 Tyler | 4GB RAM | SSD + HDD dual drive | 802.11n | Win7 U-64 + Vista U-64

Edited: 01/25/2008 at 01:42 PM by SolnzeUSB
 01/25/2008 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
000Max
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/15/2008

Thank you very much for your valued advise
 04/25/2008 02:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/25/2008

Hi there,

I have a question about TL-60 and TL-66
I am planning to buy a new Laptop
with TL-60 ot TL-66 and if a change to TL-66 from TL-60
in this store it cost $120 more.

My question is it be worth it ??

Maybe is better order originaly with TL-66 , instead of
order with TL-60 and months later buy a extra
processor (TL-66) to upgrade.
And I don't have to sell the older TL-60 because I don't
have one, because I order initily with TL-66
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information