AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Turion upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/16/2008 10:35 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/16/2008 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evodon84
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/16/2008

I currently have an old HP DV8309US with a 1.8GHz AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology ML-34. It is now an old laptop that I want to mess around with. I checked newegg and included this link

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...715567&name=Turion+64

Are these my only upgrade options or are there other choices. Can I go with a 64x2?

Thank you
 07/17/2008 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
affemeister
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/17/2008

i dont know but do you know where i can download an update to my
AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology MK-38?

-------------------------
i would need some help with updating finding a free update download to my AMD turion 64 mobile technology mk-38 (2.2 GHz, 512kb L2 cache)
 07/17/2008 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evodon84
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/16/2008

What kind of update? A BIOS update?
 07/18/2008 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
miner
Senior Member

Posts: 500
Joined: 02/22/2005

Originally posted by: evodon84

I currently have an old HP DV8309US with a 1.8GHz AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology ML-34. It is now an old laptop that I want to mess around with. I checked newegg and included this link



http://www.newegg.com/Product/...&name=Turion+64



Are these my only upgrade options or are there other choices. Can I go with a 64x2?



Thank you


All Turion X2's use a different socket(S1 638 pins). So, you cannot upgrade to those. but you can upgrade to faster Turion ML or MT series processors. Check ebay, the ML series went all the way upto 2.4GHz(ML-44). newegg just has very limited selection for sale.

-------------------------
HP Pavilion TX2500..AMD Turion X2 Ultra ZM-86, 3GB DDR2 800, 320GB 5400rpm SATA, ATi Radeon HD3200/M780G.
 07/26/2008 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yezzedman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/25/2008

can i upgrade my aspire 4520 which use turion 64x2 TL-58, to Turion x2 Dual Core RM-70? I see both of this proc use same socket. Can?
 07/31/2008 01:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RiXx
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/29/2008

You can find good CPUs on ebay. I bought my ML-44 (2.4 GHz) there and it works fine on my Acer Aspire 5002 (ML-30, 1.6 GHz). I use RMClock to keep the temp low.

-------------------------
--------------------
www.myspace.com/mountainsunflod
www.myspace.com/daedaleancomplex
www.myspace.com/nmtl_rixx

"Thank you for contacting Acer America. Unlike desktop computers, the internal components of the Acer notebook computers are not upgradeable or modifiable. This would include sound, video card/video ram, motherboard, CPU, etc. I hope this clarifies. Respectfully, K C lAcer America E-Mail Technical Support"
 08/11/2009 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jonathanm1978
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/11/2009

I have a simple question, and I can't seem to find the answer to it...

The AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-64 that I currently have in my Toshiba P205D-S8806 laptop was already upgraded when I purchased the laptop - Instead of the stock TL-58 that came in the laptop, i selected the highest I could get at the time (January of 2008), which was the TL-64.

Now I'm looking at upgrade options for the TL-64, which still works fine, just looking to get as much as I can from my laptop. I see that the TL-64 is listed as a Socket S1 architecture.

Is the Socket S1 and Socket S1G1 interchangeable? Can you place a Socket S1G1 processor in place of a Socket S1 processor? If not, the only thing I see that I can possibly do to my laptop is upgrade to the TL-66, or TL-68. After that there are no further models of the TL-xx series that I see, and the TL-68 is still pretty high in the price charts.

Thanks for the help, and time taken to answer my question.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information