AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which one is better? Turion X2 or Athon X2?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2008 11:20 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2008 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
badguy
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/16/2008

I'm curious about this 2 processors Turion X2 and Athon X2. I saw Athlon processor in a HP laptop, and TurionX2 in most of the mainstream AMD processor-based laptop. Which one is better?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4400+
Jetway M2GT4-SOG (nforce4 chipset)
1GB A-Data ddr2 800 x2
Seagate 160GB 8M
Inno3d 8600gts
Gigabyte Odin pro 550W
 08/18/2008 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Which exact processor models are you asking about? Turion X2 is their 'mobile' line of processors, I think Athlon X2 might mean an older laptop before they started making the Turions...?

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 08/18/2008 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

The Turion X2 is the dual core cpu designed for laptops ( it has a lower power consumption,giving better battery life and less heat).

The Athlon X2 was a dual core cpu designed for desktop computers(normal CPU power consumption),but it is sometimes used in laptops as a cheaper alternative to Turion X2 cpus.

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 08/18/2008 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

the mobile athlon x2's are with 2x256 kb of cache making a total of 512kb of cache the turions on the other hand has 2x 512kb of cache
 08/27/2008 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lebesset
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/26/2008

the reality is that these processors are both in the tyler series , 65 nm , the athlon being branded TK and the turion TL
the principal difference is exactly as Orn says ...L2 cache .....TK currently offers 1.7 , 1.8 , 1.9 , TL 1.8 , 1.9 and up ....I would guess they start off the same but are selected during testing

HOWEVER I find conflicting reports on something else ...do either or both support virtualisation technology ; my understanding is that the turion does , but the athlon does not ....does anyone know the truth of the matter ? seems odd to me that one would be different from the other
 09/23/2008 09:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evo_mark
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/23/2008

Hi! I recently bought a Compaq preasrio CQ40-115Au (powered by Turion 64 X2 RM-70) in malaysia, last night I saw a Compaq Presario CQ40-107AU (Athlon 64 X2 QL-60)here in the philippines...same question comes in my mind....though the only difference is Turion (RM-70) has a 2.0ghz of clock speed and 31W of power consumortion while the Athlon (QL-60) has 1.9ghz of clockspeed and 35W of power consumption.....so same question comes to my mind.....Which one is better? Turion X2 or Athon X2?
 09/23/2008 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

depends on the use and besides my esp tells me that the mobile athlon X2's are toned down versions of the Turion x2's for the budget conscious buyer
 09/24/2008 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evo_mark
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/23/2008

Hi Orn,

So It Means that the processor in my laptop (turion 64 X2 RM-70) is better than Athlon 64 X2 QL-60 in terms of performance and effeciency? and when it comes to price range......can you give me an idea? are these models (in your opinion) will have a large difference in terms of selling price if these were sold in the same market?

CQ40-115AU specs malaysian market
AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-70 2.0ghz,1mb L2cache
1GB DDR2 667mhz
160gb HDD
Super multi 8XDVD-RW with dual layer support
14.1 WXGA high definition brightview display
ATI Radeon HD3200
802.1b/g WLAN
5-in-1 card reader
Webcam
6 cell Batt

CQ40-107AU specs Philippine market
AMD Athlon 64 X2 QL-60 1.9ghz,1mb L2cache
1GB DDR2 667mhz
160gb HDD
Super multi 8XDVD-RW with dual layer support
14.1 WXGA high definition brightview display
ATI Radeon HD3200
802.1b/g WLAN
5-in-1 card reader
Webcam
6 cell Batt


Have asked local dealers about these processors, but I cant get satisfying answers....


Thanks for the inputs
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information