AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I need to upgrade my video card
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/07/2009 08:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/07/2009 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Deacon
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/07/2009

I am new to this, so please be patient with me. I am trying to rebuild an old 5WV232 Compaq Presario. I've already made several upgrades to this system. This unit started out with:

Compaq o6E4h motherboard
AMD Duron 700MHz processor
64 MB SDRAM pc100 RAM
20 GIG compaq HDD
IDE CD/ROM
operating system Windows ME
200 FSB

I now have:

Compaq 06E4h motherboard
AMD Athlon 1300MHz processor
576MB SDRAM pc100 RAM
300 GIG Seagate HDD
IDE CD-R/RW
HP 1040i DVD Writher
operating system Windows Vista Home Basic SP-2
200 FSB

What would be the best AGP graphic card for this set up?
 03/07/2009 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

HIS Hightech H385Q512ANP Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready IceQ 3 Turbo Video Card - Retail Overclocked to 720MHz and fast, quiet IceQ Turbo

if your going to ask me if its worth it, I would have to say a 2000 PC needs to be retired permanently and time for a 2009 build.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/07/2009 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Deacon
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/07/2009

no fun in that. I do this for a hobby. I have 2 other systems that I bought, but, again, where is the fun in that?
 03/11/2009 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

HD3850 won't work for a variety of reasons. I wouldn't go any higher than a Radeon 8500 or GF4.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 03/11/2009 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Get a card with DirectX 9 support and 128-bit wide memory bus, no less. Since you run Vista also a HD3450 might go, but do consider its power requirement.

-------------------------
 03/11/2009 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

before upgrading, try to find more information on the FIC AZ31 motherboard, which is what that Compaq has. The AGP slot supposedly is 2x/4x, but that doesn't necessarily mean it will support modern 4x/8x video cards.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 05/16/2009 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hyiperz1
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/13/2009

Originally posted by: Deacon

I am new to this, so please be patient with me. I am trying to rebuild an old 5WV232 Compaq Presario. I've already made several upgrades to this system. This unit started out with:



Compaq o6E4h motherboard

AMD Duron 700MHz processor

64 MB SDRAM pc100 RAM

20 GIG compaq HDD

IDE CD/ROM

operating system Windows ME

200 FSB



I now have:



Compaq 06E4h motherboard

AMD Athlon 1300MHz processor

576MB SDRAM pc100 RAM

300 GIG Seagate HDD

IDE CD-R/RW

HP 1040i DVD Writher

operating system Windows Vista Home Basic SP-2

200 FSB



What would be the best AGP graphic card for this set up?



I would suggest to go for RADEON 9550 AGP Graphic Card...

check out on official site of radeon for best offers...

-------------------------
http://hyiperz.com
 08/29/2011 02:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paulanderson
Newbie

Posts: 50
Joined: 08/17/2011

A video card upgrade is not difficult. On the other hand, perhaps no other computer upgrade can be more error prone. Video card problems can be intermittent, perhaps occuring just often enough to be a nuisance. Yet when they do occur they can be show stoppers, literally bringing the computer to a halt, which is evidenced by the screen display "locking up", or dropping the application you're running suddenly back the desktop. As evidence of the myriad of video card problems that can result, just check out the humongous GeForce FAQ page from Tweak3D, or the massive video card message board at Guru3D. The internet world is fortunate to have such valuable resources available. Hopefully you won't need them.

But no computer upgrade is as rewarding as a video card upgrade. Stunningly realistic 3D images, seamlessly smooth animation, fantastic visual effects such as fog, smoke, and light haze, and real-world motion physics are some of the spectacular features gained through the use of state-of-the-art video card technology.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information