AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon Thunderbird (1GHz processor) - upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/11/2010 10:17 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by navyfalcon1, on Monday, December 13, 2010 6:24 PM

Answer:
to: go_for
bought ram (3 sticks at 256).
Thank you
falcon
-
to: bogey
will be looking for a used motherboard that fits the Compaq Presario case.
Thank You
falcon
 12/11/2010 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
navyfalcon1
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/11/2010

I have a Compaq Presario 5wv295 computer with the 1GHz AMD Athlon processor
Respectively request information on a suitable upgrade (the specs says it is upgradable)
What would you recommend. What would you upgrade the power supply and the heat sink and fan to support the processor.
-
Thank you for any advice and information
falcon
 12/12/2010 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Depends on what $$$ you have to spend now or in the future. Myself, I live paycheck to paycheck and plan my upgrades in advance and follow a path. The path approach takes longer, but in the end you have better parts and can plan further upgrades. So do you have a lump sum to spend or do you have $100-200 per month (or so) to spend. Personally I recommend upgrading part by part since you can get better parts one at a time then you can do in one complete shot.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 12/12/2010 02:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

There isn't much information on the pc at HP ">">"><br "><br ">&l.......wfr...duct=93936&



]http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?lc=fr&dlc=fr&cc=fr&man_lang=en&product=93936&
<br [/L]

Need to know motherboard and type of memory modules(looks like PC100 SDRAM) to give an accurate answer for a cpu upgrade. If it's a Thunderbird core it's old old tech, like nearly 10 years old.

Most people would be retiring it and buying a new platform. If the motherboard only supports 100MHz bus a cpu upgrade(1400MHz 100fsb Athlon 14x100) isn't going to make a huge difference. Increasing the size of the memory modules may help more if you're intent on keeping it, but frankly it's not worth spending money on.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 12/12/2010 at 03:33 AM by bogey
 12/12/2010 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
navyfalcon1
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/11/2010

motherboard: Compaq 06E4h
chipset: Apollo Pro
southbridge: VT82C686
BIOS: Compaq 786K1 10/12/2000
-
I am maxing out memory
some suggested AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+(133x14) CPU
is that the 1400MHz 100fsb Athlon 14x100 ??
it appears that you can increase 100 to 133 via jumper (cut one and solder the other)
Not sure, still researching. If I am careful and lucky on ebay, the upgrade would be
about $100. That is within my price range.
-
Don't know how much improvement it gives
thank you
falcon
 12/12/2010 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
navyfalcon1
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/11/2010

I have the same financial problem.
I am looking at the upgrade because the cost.
The upgrade is fairly cheap but I don't know the value (or how much performance
it will give). Next (depending on cost) would be a used computer.
The last choice would be building my own (which seems to be what you suggested).
Thank you
falcon
 12/12/2010 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
navyfalcon1
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/11/2010

motherboard: Compaq 06E4h
to: bogey
chipset: Apollo Pro
southbridge: VT82C686
BIOS: Compaq 786K1 10/12/2000
-
I am maxing out memory
some suggested AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+(133x14) CPU
is that the 1400MHz 100fsb Athlon 14x100 ??
it appears that you can increase 100 to 133 via jumper (cut one and solder the other)
Not sure, still researching. If I am careful and lucky on ebay, the upgrade would be
about $100. That is within my price range.
-
Don't know how much improvement it gives
thank you
falcon
 12/12/2010 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
navyfalcon1
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/11/2010

problem trying to remove or edit post (reason for double post)
sorry for the violation of rules
falcon
 12/13/2010 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I don't think I'd spend $100 on that. You could well pick up a much better secondhand tower for about that money.

If the board supports 133 MHz bus you should be able to run up to a Palomino core xp2100. I have my doubts about a later Thoroughbred or Barton core.
">http://classicplatform.../cpu/...pudesk.html


You should be able to get a S/H pally xp2000 or xp2100 for less than a tenner on fleabay.

What operating system is the machine running? How many memory slots do you have? What is the maximum capacity of PC133 memory for each slot(MB)?

There's probably people on this forum with this old stuff to give away for free... I have a few sdram modules collecting dust. Only 128MB sticks though.

Divers have pulled better machines out of a dumpster. Worth a look I reckon.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 12/13/2010 at 11:59 AM by bogey
 12/13/2010 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

That UWave motherboard supports only 100MHz bus, but RAM can go 133MHz. Takes a maximum of 768MB RAM, e.g
512+256MB or 3x256MB, in three slots. The best CPU for it is a Duron 1300 and 1400 Athlon T-bird@100MHz bus.
Not worth to change the CPU, but can add some RAM if it is less now.

-------------------------
 12/13/2010 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
navyfalcon1
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/11/2010

Answer Answer
to: go_for
bought ram (3 sticks at 256).
Thank you
falcon
-
to: bogey
will be looking for a used motherboard that fits the Compaq Presario case.
Thank You
falcon
 12/14/2010 12:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Yeah but the ram you bought(168 pin SDRAM) is old and won't work on later motherboards(post c. 2003 when 184 pin DDR was introduced). This is why I didn't think it was worth spending money on it.

Also many boards built around that era are expiring due to capacitor failure.

The best CPU for it is a Duron 1300 and 1400 Athlon T-bird@100MHz bus.

So I was right first time.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 12/14/2010 at 02:05 AM by bogey
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information