AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Holy Smokes, What Do I Have On My Hands?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2004 05:43 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/10/2004 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

I know its been awhile so HI again. Ok, i just picked up a new Mod set-Up from a relative today and here are the Specs as i can find them so far on this one. Authentic AMD ATHLON 1260Mhz, Level 1 128Kb & Level 2 512Kb to 8Mb on board, FREQUENCY 5-800Mhz [Bus Speed 100Mhz]. I'm still fresh into looking into this and these numbers reflect the returns made with TESTCPU. Clock Multiplier looks to be 12.0 & actual FSB Clock=104.99Mhz. Processor says Family 6 model 7. WHAT THE WORLD DO I HAVE HERE? I want to b sure this is enough as is or would i need to make changes. Thanks.



-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/11/2004 05:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

It's a slightly overclocked Duron 'Morgan'(model 7).
Actually, it's a 1.2GHz part - should be running at a 100MHz(DDR200) FSB - it has a x12.0 multiplier, 1.75V Vcore, 90°C max temp and 64KB L2-cache.
You can find the appropriate datasheet here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/24310.pdf

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 04/11/2004 07:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

QUOTE (Greyhound @ Apr 11 2004, 01:07 AM) It's a slightly overclocked Duron 'Morgan'(model 7).
Actually, it's a 1.2GHz part - should be running at a 100MHz(DDR200) FSB - it has a x12.0 multiplier, 1.75V Vcore, 90°C max temp and 64KB L2-cache.
You can find the appropriate datasheet here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/24310.pdf
Thanks for the PDF & reply GREYHOUND. How is this one performance wise? Is there an upgrade i can turn to and do you recommend the setting be set back to
(100Mhz)? Or is it safe to proceed as it is?

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/11/2004 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE How is this one performance wise?
Well, it is pretty old...depends on what you're planning to use it for...
QUOTE Is there an upgrade i can turn to
You mean upgrade to a better/faster CPU?
That depends on your motherboard. Determine its manufacturer and model and search for the appropriate CPU-support list on the manufacturers' site.
QUOTE do you recommend the setting be set back to
(100Mhz)? Or is it safe to proceed as it is?
60MHz is a very small OC...if it is stable, i wouldn't worry about it

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 04/11/2004 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

WOW greyhound, what a bummer. Not the news i would have hoped for, but you get what you pay for i suppose. At least the CASE is Super-Fast. Another downside i might add i found, there is 256Mb built-in the mobo with only 1 slot for additional which i filled today for a total 512Mb. Also was told the Processor is welded on the backside of MoBo. Means no replacing processor on this one? MoBo is a PC CHIPS Group Manufacturer. Such a fine well made looking MoBo though. Everything is fresh looking. I'm bound and determine yet to get an ATLON XP or Other if reasonable price range. Heres some recent specs i wish you can comment on. TSystem=54 C, Tcpu=35 C, Taux= 33 C, FanCPU= 5273 RPM, Vcore=1.78V,V2.5=2.46V, and Vio=3.28V. CHIPSET=SiS730S.

Well i must say, my 500Mhz. runs circles around this one right now as for as instant response, and this is without heavy load of course. Thanks for the reply and a little more insight into this.

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/11/2004 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Do you know what model number your PCChips motherboard is?

Try running AIDA32, the link is in my signature, it should tell you the exact model of the mainboard, the SiS730 chipset will run most of the XP's..

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/12/2004 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Sorry i didn't include the Model. Here it is, PC CHIPS Model M810Lv71c.
Do I have 512Mb DDR???? Also, whats your opinion on the BUILT-IN Memory, how would i reach 1Gb unless i added the one slot with a massive number??? I say this because according to SPECS it supports 1 Gb of Memory, but with only 1 slot.
******************************************************************

PCCHIPS launches M810L V7.1C mainboard with SiS730S chipset and Duron CPU onboard (07/03/2002)
PC CHIPS is pleased to launch M810L V7.1C mainboard with Duron processor onboard. M810L has been one of the best selling mainboards since the first version was released. Now we add a powerful processor—Duron onboard and make the mainboard even more valuable.

M810L V7.1C incorporates Duron processor and the single chipset SiS730S with 3D graphics engine embedded. There are 2 SDRAM DIMM sockets supporting up to 1GB memory, 1 AGP4X slots, 2 PCI slots and 1 AMR slots for AMR fax/modem card. 4- channel audio is ready onboard and LAN is provided as an optional function.

If you are tired of bargaining for the expensive processor and want something more valuable than what you have to pay for, M810L V7.1C will be your best choice.
****************************************************************


Specification:
Processors
Onboard AMD Duron
Support 200MHz FSB
CHIPSET
SiS730S single chipset with following features:
Integrated advanced 128-bit 2D\3D graphic engine.
LPC I/O - ITE IT8705F
System Hardware Monitor: Integrated in ITE IT8705F
Lan - VIA VT6103 (optional)
Audio - AC' 97 Codec VIA VT1612A
SYSTEM BIOS
AMI 2Mb Firmware Hub
Supports Plug and Play 1.0A, APM 1.2, Multi-Boot, DMI
Support ACPI revision 1.0 specification
MEMORY
2 SDRAM DIMM Sockets NO ONLY 1, other is OnBoard!
Two 168-pin DIMM sockets for SDRAM memory module
Maximum : 1GB
SPECIAL FEATURES
Supports Wake on LAN, Wake on Modem, Interrupt
Wake-Up from Keyboard / Mouse, and Keyboard
Power ON/OFF
I/O INTERFACE
Back Panel I/O Ports
PS/2 keyboard and mouse connectors
Dual USB1.1 Ports and a LAN connector
One EPP/ECP mode parallel port
One 16550 high-speed serial I/O port
One VGA connector
Audio ports (Mic, Audio-in, Audio-out and game port)
Dual PCI IDE interfaces - support four IDE devices
(PIO mode 4, DMA Mode 2, Ultra DMA 66/100)????????
Supports 360K~2.88M Byte, 3 Mode FDDs or LS120
ATX Power Supply Connector
Ports, headers and others
* IrDA header
* Internal PC speaker header
* Extra Mic./ Speaker header
* CD ROM/DVD Audio Input header
* Extra USB Ports
* HDD LED, Reset Switch, Suspend LED, Power
Switch headers
* CPU and chasis Fan Headers
RTC & BATTERY
Integrate CMOS SRAM in SiS730S
With CMOS hardware clear jumper
EXPANSION SLOTS
2 PCI slots, 1 AGP slot, 1 AMR slot
FORM FACTOR & LAYERS
ATX ( 244mm*220mm), 4 Layers

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/14/2004 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

What you've got there is one of the multiple variations of the PCChips M810L mobo.
Yours is the M810L v9.0M not the M810L v7.1C... the 'C' only had the Duron, not the memory.
http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

These come already equipped with not only an obsolete Duron soldered directly onto the mobo, but also 256 meg of PC133 memory soldered on there as well!

The first thing to do with this P.o.S. from he11 is get rid of the 'Pro' BIOS that lies through it's teeth.
The 'stock' PCChips 030103s.rom BIOS from my M810L BIOS page will get you started down the 'road to truth'
http://www.freewebs.com/milt/P...810L...L_BIOS_Page.htm' ">http://www.freewebs.com/milt/P...ps_M810L_BIOS_Page.htm

After that, if you want to overclock the Duron 1200, you need to get better cooling on there, but you'll need to save and re-use the clip that holds the current HS/F on there, and also find some longer screws of the same thread type.

This mobo is great for first-time builders... you plug it into any PSU and it'll POST!
Add a HD and an OS and you're up and running! Anyone can 'build' a computer!

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 04/15/2004 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

I CAN'T THANK YOU ENOUGH, if the truth hurts too bad. Thanks for setting the record straight on this skillet-fried-model. I pulled it off a shelf from a wholesale trade show so i should have suspected there was a catch someplace. All this On-Board crap is for the birds of course, what can you do with it? CAN YOU POST A LINK WHERE I CAN FIND THE MOTHERBOARDS where i can set-up the best possible advanced pieces at the bare minimum in cost? I assume this Dinky Mobo is as far as one can take it, since it comes fully customized with BUILT ONS.
Also i can't get any SOUND to come on. I,ve checked everything from schemes to drivers, made sure im using the proper Audio Out jack, and this SiS7018 WAVE, is there maybe a prob. with the AUDIO AC'97 Codec CMI9738 on-board chip? Do i need to Download a driver i'm missing for this chip? Under BIOS setup, the Audio is ENABLED., under Device Mngr. i searched for conflicts and came up with nothing there. HOW DO YOU GET THIS THING TO RUN A TEST AND POINT OUT THERES NO SOUND?

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/15/2004 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Hey Skycom..

Are you using amplified speaker or amplified headphones, quite a few of the PCChips/ECS boards do not have pre-amplified outputs, meaning that you will not hear anything or anything you hear from non-amplified speakers will be quite low. Give that a try. How about the volume control under SYSTEM or SETTINGS \ Multimedia, assumig you are using Windows OS of some-sort..

Later

MD

PS Milt- Did you get the 848 yet ?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/15/2004 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

QUOTE Are you using amplified speaker or amplified headphones,

I'm using ordinary run-of-the-mill-type normal desktop speakers. I have searched hi & low, MULTIMEDIA volume control, SOUNDS schemes, SiS7018 Audio Driver & their installed, i searched the Audio Devices under DEVICE MANGR for conflicts & still no go. The MOBO states the top jack of 3 is AUDIO OUT. No sound yet. My speakers are in perfect working order as i have another desktop right here to verify. Went into BIOS set-up and Audio is ENABLED. Im totally baffled, my local computer shop (only 1 out here in the country), suggested they could install me a new sound card. Is this what i have to do now? I saw an article that if the PCI latency is set too high the sounds can drop out of lock. I just don't know, i went under BIOS SETUP\SETTINGS\ but don't see the PCI & AGP DEVICES referred to. If i can find this, its suggested to reduce latency to either 64 or 32.

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/15/2004 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I am not too familiar with that board, Milt is the "Man" when it comes to these boards, I'm just a general troubleshooter..

To find the multimedia stuff on a windows os try the following

I'm using NT4 but it should be similar...
Click on START, then find SETTINGS, then highlight and click on CONTROL PANEL, a control panel window should pop open. Then look for the "Multimedia" icon, click it. The multimedia properties window should appear. You should see the "Audio" tab. It will list thw playback and recording devices, and master volume. Give that a try.

In XP, it may be under my computer & change a setting.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/15/2004 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

QUOTE (skycom @ Apr 15 2004, 04:19 AM) I CAN'T THANK YOU ENOUGH, if the truth hurts too bad. Thanks for setting the record straight on this skillet-fried-model. I pulled it off a shelf from a wholesale trade show so i should have suspected there was a catch someplace. All this On-Board crap is for the birds of course, what can you do with it? CAN YOU POST A LINK WHERE I CAN FIND THE MOTHERBOARDS where i can set-up the best possible advanced pieces at the bare minimum in cost? I assume this Dinky Mobo is as far as one can take it, since it comes fully customized with BUILT ONS.
Also i can't get any SOUND to come on. I,ve checked everything from schemes to drivers, made sure im using the proper Audio Out jack, and this SiS7018 WAVE, is there maybe a prob. with the AUDIO AC'97 Codec CMI9738 on-board chip? Do i need to Download a driver i'm missing for this chip? Under BIOS setup, the Audio is ENABLED., under Device Mngr. i searched for conflicts and came up with nothing there. HOW DO YOU GET THIS THING TO RUN A TEST AND POINT OUT THERES NO SOUND?
Maybe we should start a new thread on the best setu to get for the lowest cost.

I still think there's a minimum outlay if you're to avoid these PC Chips setups. They work fine if that's all you want, but for upgraders..avoid.

At the moment, there's a nice Athlon XP doing the rounds, namely the "Barton" 2500+ that uses a 166MHz FSB - it's cheap and very overclockable. All that's left is to determine the chipset used - nForce 2 Ultra 400 and KT600 are good, and with the nForce 2 you get onboard video (can be disabled) and dual-channel DDR. Gigabyte make some nice boards - maybe not the best overclockers but they run very stable indeed and they have some cool BIOS protection features.

For hard drives, Maxtor does some real nice drives with 8MB buffers. For DVD-WR drives, Lite-on does the 811s than can copy almost anything you throw at it; their 48x or 52 CD-WR drives are also the dog's gonkers. For RAM, get some branded but cheap stuff like TwinMOS - DDR400 and no less than 512MB (2 x 256MB for dual-channel operation). For grafix, get the Radeon 9600 XT (slower versions of the 9600 available). Get a decent 450watt PSU as well, ideally AMD approved.

Things to be wary of: cheap motherboards!; crappy RAM; insufficient PSU.

Tip: Get the bits from a computer fair - there's more competition on the day and less people willing to be ripped off.

Well I'll leave it there so we cna get back to the thread!

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 04/15/2004 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

What more needs to be said. The ATHLON XP is definitely in my sights after this ordeal.
QUOTE Gigabyte make some nice boards

I've elected to select the HoneyX beginners version from the list. I assume this is a start to grasp a better comparison from what this DURON & PC Chips can take. In the intermediate version theres no visual minimum memory requirement. You suggest one? You already know the Mb limit for this board & in this case 512. I've taken the steps of placing both the FLASH & BIOS.rom in same folder in the C:\
section. I'll give it whirl, whata' think about this?

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/17/2004 12:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

Give the 'Beginners' DM810L.rom a whirl.
At 100/100 (default) it'll = 105/105
At 100/133 = 103/137 and the on-board memory SHOULD be able to handle this 137 MHz.
At 133/133 = 110/110 you're off and running, because from 110/110 you can ATTEMPT to get to any of these settings using CPUCooL...

110/110->112/112->124/124->133.3/133.3->133.7/133.7->137.3/137.3->138.3/138.3(which in reality is really 133.3/133.3)->140/140

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 04/17/2004 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

I just went back through this thread and realized that your CPU is running at 54° Celsius
Check in your CMOS for the 'REAL' temps and adjust your software to reflect reality.

That 54° Celsius is way too hot for any sort of overclocking, and as I said above, to get a better cooling solution on there, you'll need to save and re-use the clip that holds the current HS/F on there, and also locate some longer screws of the same thread type.
When you attempt to install a 'normal' HS on there, you'll find that the bottom 'pad' of it is thicker, and the 'stock' screws just wont reach the mobo any more.

About the best you can hope for with this board, with it's soldered-on 256 meg of SDRAM memory, and soldered-on Duron Morgan 1200, is about 10.5x140/140 = 1470 MHz, but I'm going to have to make you work for it to get there.
You might get 'lucky' and hit 10.0x150/150 but that depends on that soldered-on 256 meg of SDRAM, but at least we can test the memory separately from the CPU.

You game?

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 04/17/2004 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Am i game? Answer, as if you should ask, SURE, lets give it a whirl. But just what is reality if this BIOS tells stories. Is it ok to go ahead and download the "Beginners" HoneyX? and i'm not familiar with FLASHING the Bios as they say.
Am all game for getting first the CORRECT temps & measurments then ready to surge the CPU up a tad, OK?

This one is for MD Willington:, im a little ticked off at PC Chippies for this one. You was right on the mark! I tried a set of plug-in speaks and sound returned to normal, meaning my cordless speaks which have superior sound are not compatible with the Chippies sound chip darn-it. If i install a separate sound card then might my regular speaks work thru this? GRRR! These el cheapo's speaks sound the pits, but at least now i verified the facts you pointed to.



-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/19/2004 02:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

The beginners Honey-X BIOS won't tell you any lies in that respect, but it will on the 'CPU PnP' page in CMOS.
So you'll need to read the 'readme.txt' that comes with the BIOS, and you should also read the "How to USE the Honey-X BIOS's" in the middle of my BIOS page.

For flashing the BIOS, if you have any FAT32 hard drive partition, (your 'C' drive I hope), you're all set.
Again, just read the 'Flashing instructions' at the bottom of the BIOS page and you should be fine.

I've got the 'Notify by e-mail' turned on for this thread now, so if you have ANY questions, it's best ask them BEFORE flashing.

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 04/19/2004 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

QUOTE The beginners Honey-X BIOS won't tell you any lies in that respect, but it will on the 'CPU PnP' page in CMOS.
So you'll need to read the 'readme.txt' that comes with the BIOS, and you should also read the "How to USE the Honey-X BIOS's" in the middle of my BIOS page.

I understand the returned readings will be unfactual but the settings will "SET" the specified selections.

QUOTE For flashing the BIOS, if you have any FAT32 hard drive partition, (your 'C' drive I hope), you're all set.
Again, just read the 'Flashing instructions' at the bottom of the BIOS page and you should be fine.

I first to be on the safe side need to make a AMBIOS boot floppy right?

QUOTE I've got the 'Notify by e-mail' turned on for this thread now, so if you have ANY questions, it's best ask them BEFORE flashing.

Thanks.

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/19/2004 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Don't get too concerned over the sound chip, most mainboards do not include an amplified output unless the company that made the mainboard actually thought to include a driven output, most don't simply because most computer speakers have built in amplifiers.

This will reduce the cost of R&D, manufacturing & re-work of the mainboard. Although amplifier IC's are fairly cheap and easy to setup, most boards are built to maximize the use of "real estate" (area) on the board.

We run into this here in manufacturing multilayer boards. It is simply easier to adhere to the KISS rule, "Keep It Simple Stupid", but thats another topic outside this forum.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information