AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Holy Smokes, What Do I Have On My Hands?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2004 05:43 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/01/2004 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

If you are refering to the link in my sig below... this one...
http://www.freewebs.com/milt/P...810L...L_BIOS_Page.htm' ">http://www.freewebs.com/milt/P...ps_M810L_BIOS_Page.htm
then no, but that's because no update is required.

Did you ever try to flash that 030414s.rom... the one made for the 'C' versions of your mobo???

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/09/2004 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Thanks for getting back to me.

Simply put i been too busy to fit a time slot in to do this, but im reserving some time to at least begin with the 1st option.

What i need from you is some clarification on a certain item or two, in the tutorial you mention or whoever it is that compiled these BIOS setting files mentioned that the readings will return incorrect results in the DOS and this was something that hadn't been corrected yet.

My question is, what utility or program is best for accurately displaying the exact readings?

Thanks

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 08/09/2004 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

hehe you guys been on the flashing bios part for a while, if you cant figure it out just do it in windows under safe mode, i have yet to see a problem and with my backup Ive flashed at least 5 different bioses just trying to experiment i do have a backup chip after all .

sorry posts are to long and I'm not patent to read around 2 pages discussing the same bios flashing technique so refresh me, can or can you not do it?

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 08/09/2004 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

hehe, read some of the above and offer up any suggestions you might have. BTW, no one is been trying anything for awhile, this is post #2 of mine since about 4 months ago.

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 08/09/2004 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

I don't know what the "1st option" is, (or was), and am basically too lazy to search back through a three page thread to find it.

Run WCPUID, (or CrystalCPUID,) to get all the pertinant details about what CPU you actually have in there, what speed it's currently running at, and make a note of the L2 cache, the multiplier, and the Family - Model - Stepping ID...
From that info, we can figure out exactly what it is you have, and what it should be running at.
WCPUID is available for free here http://www.h-oda.com/' ">http://www.h-oda.com/
CrystalCPUID is available free, from this page http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en' ">http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en

I have forgotten what all you are running, so... please, do me a favor, and put everything that you currently know about your system's specifications into your 'Signature' by hitting 'My Controls' (at the top of every page), then 'Edit Signature', then enter your details in the box that appears.

Include the Model and REV number of your mobo, OS used, BIOS used, CPU type and temperature, [e.g. Athlon 750 @ ??°C idle/ ??°C load], FSB & multi, memory used [i.e. 2 x 256 PC2100 ], vid card, and PSU specs (+3.3v=??A, +5.0v=??A & +12v=??A from the sticker on your PSU), if you have them.

There is no way in he11 that you are expected to know all of that junk, but please, put in the stuff that you do know about, and a ??? for the stuff you don't, and I'll show you where to find it, Okay?

You only need to do this once, and then every time you post here, those specifications will appear automatically at the bottom of each and every one of your posts.

Knowing all the nitty-gritty details about the system we are working with can be EXTREMELY important when overclocking one of these mobos to the max.

Then I don't have to depend on this aging grey matter to remember, or search for, or possibly even make some WaG (wild-assed guesstimate) about what your system specs might be, each and every time I reply.
I hate having to search back through the entire thread just because I'm not bright enough to remember what CPU, or memory type, you were running... you follow me?



-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/16/2004 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Let me know if i left anything out.

I will condense all the info into a better organized arrangement that doesnt scoop up so much space as soon as i get a chance again.

The new release of Ad-Aware SE has me pretty swamped for awhile handling everyones issues and questions on the Lavasoft Forum as well as the many HijackThis Logs i analyze now as you might guess.

I will post up some temperatures so you have an idea of the heat readings also.

As always thanks for taking the time to reply and getting back to me with this request for the data you need to make informative decisions.

Keep up the good work.

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 08/16/2004 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

skycom check ur private messages

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
 08/16/2004 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

I did, Thanks

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 08/16/2004 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

skycom,

You could just do a 'copy & paste' of this...

M810LR v9.0M, Win98, BIOS ?????.rom ?, Duron 1200 @ ??°C idle/ ??°C load, 12.0x 105 = 1260, vid card (if any), memory used (i.e. 1x 256 PC133 on-board), and PSU specs (+3.3v=??A, +5.0v=??A & +12v=??A... Get that PSU info from the sticker on your PSU)

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/16/2004 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Will Do, i'll get that PowerSupply Info as soon as i can post it, might be a day or 2 but i will post back hopefully with everything needed to make decisions on.


Sorry for the delay, as you might expect the forum i'm on is totally awash with questions and issues and so consuming a great deal of my time at the moment.

One other thing i wanted to ask is this mobo M810L version 9 i have right now. Is all my video being handled alone by the onboard graphics? If so, what reasonable alternative external plug-in video card options do i have?


Thanks

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/18/2005 02:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Hello yet again MILT! and Super-Tech others!

Been away quite some time and just coming back to this thread n' topic to finish the work that was started months ago.

Maybe i can actually move forward on this now:

Feel free to drop any new news or update info that you think might be of some interest.

Checked the PCChips website and pulled in some drivers if for nothing else to have them on hand as spares since their dates reflect nothing very current as for as updated.

Regards SKYCOM

SIDENOTE:

Dropped to "Safe Mode Command Prompt" (Win98SE) and retried flashing to the HoneyX DM810L.ROM and this time receiving error: file not found

I'm going to Flash with this next: [b' ">http://www.freewebs.com/milt/P...ps_M810L_BIOS_Page.htm

Any advice? With all my expertise in other areas you are looking at a noob here.
Why is this file exe and the other rom?

C:>\flash dm810l.rom produced the red-light error

My next step will be C:>\flash 030103s.exe is this correct?

I'll wait for the expert go ahead before launching into this next phase:
Thanks

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/19/2005 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

WRONG!

The "error: file not found" is usually caused by an incorrect BIOS name entry, or, the BIOS that you want to flash is not in the same folder (or partition... i.e. C:\ that your flash utility is located in.

The 030103s.exe is a self-opening *.exe file
Double-click on it, to get the 030103s.rom file that you need.

Then, the correct command from C:> is...
FLASH 030103s.rom

But, I expect that you will get the same "red-light error"
It's because you are changing from the 'C' or 'M' series of BIOSes (the ones that have a soldered-on Duron), to the 'regular' BIOS, that you are getting that error.

You may need to use the other flash utility from my BIOS page in order to 'force' this flash on your v9.0M



-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 04/19/2005 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

Hi skycom, Milt, Matt (MD),

The "longer screws" thing depends on the thickness of the the base of the replacement heatsink. The one such swap I did, took the original screws just fine. But I know others have had to use longer screws.

John

EDIT: Just realized that I responded to a post that will be a year old tomorrow. But the comment remains the same!

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 04/20/2005 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
somethingbrite
Member

Posts: 112
Joined: 01/31/2004

?? There a motherboard manufacturers out there that SOLDER CPU´s and Memory directly to the motherboards???
WOW!! and WHY???...and That sucks.
 04/20/2005 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE (somethingbrite @ Apr 20 2005, 07:50 AM) ?? There a motherboard manufacturers out there that SOLDER CPU´s and Memory directly to the motherboards???
WOW!! and WHY???...and That sucks.
They are meant to be an all in one solution, sort of like when you buy a car

Although some of use like to build our own cars...you should see some of Milts !

Feels like a monty python skit here; Dr, Dr, Dr, Dr...

Later

Matt

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/20/2005 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

somethingbrite Posted on Apr 20 2005, 07:50 AM
QUOTE ?? There a motherboard manufacturers out there that SOLDER CPU´s and Memory directly to the motherboards???
WOW!! and WHY???...and That sucks.

Some of us should be so lucky? Maybe in the future they might consider soldering all the memory chips and even the BIOS chip while they are at it huh?

JHawk56 Posted on Apr 19 2005, 02:17 PM
QUOTE John
EDIT: Just realized that I responded to a post that will be a year old tomorrow. But the comment remains the same!

It was started that long ago but you will find most everything posted in it is still very current and will apply to today.

-Milt- Posted on Apr 19 2005, 12:06 PM
QUOTE WRONG!
The "error: file not found" is usually caused by an incorrect BIOS name entry, or, the BIOS that you want to flash is not in the same folder (or partition... i.e. C:\ that your flash utility is located in.

The 030103s.exe is a self-opening *.exe file
Double-click on it, to get the 030103s.rom file that you need.

Then, the correct command from C:> is...
FLASH 030103s.rom

Got Ya! Thanks, and great to see you and MD Willington are still very active in these circuitry and hardware discussions.
As always you guys are a wealth of dependable assistance in this confusing field.

-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

 04/22/2005 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi skycom, John, Matt,

This thread is now well over a year old, and is three pages long, going on four.

So far, you have made one failed attempt to flash your BIOS.
That's it.
Nothing else.
After a year, and three pages of help, from some of the most knowledgable PCChips 'techies' on this planet.

Get your act together, and do something... ANYTHING... or you are going to lose my interest completely, and very soon...

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 06/02/2005 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skycom
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 03/16/2004

Milt- Apr 22 2005, 07:55 AM Post #77

QUOTEHi skycom, John, Matt,

This thread is now well over a year old, and is three pages long, going on four.

So far, you have made one failed attempt to flash your BIOS.
That's it.
Nothing else.
After a year, and three pages of help, from some of the most knowledgable PCChips 'techies' on this planet.

Get your act together, and do something... ANYTHING... or you are going to lose my interest completely, and very soon... 



/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> IF THAT'S THE KIND OF HELP THIS SITE OFFERS FEEL FREE TO CLOSE THIS TOPIC ON REQUEST OF MEMBER WHO AUTHORED IT TO START WITH.

NOT EVERYBODY IS WILLING TO HOSE THEIR INVESTMENT DUE TO YOUR<_< IMPATIENCE!



-------------------------
M810L version9.0 MoBo' ">http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m810l-v90m.asp

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information