AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1.2GHz T-Bird SSE Support?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/28/2004 08:34 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/28/2004 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

I could swear that the 1.2GHz Athlon Thunderbird processors supported SSE, am I wrong? I downloaded WCPUID and it indeed says no SSE support. Is this maybe a BIOS setting or does this generation not support it like I thought?

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 11/28/2004 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konfuzd
Senior Member

Posts: 1535
Joined: 11/13/2003

The xp's were the first AMD processors to support SSE.

-------------------------
If all else fails, hit it harder.
 11/28/2004 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

[content edited]

Alright, thanks!

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 11/28/2004 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Quick follow-up....

Are Semprons 64-bit? Any Sempron boards that are just SD RAM and not DDR RAM?

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 11/28/2004 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Nope.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 11/28/2004 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambjo
Senior Member

Posts: 1905
Joined: 03/31/2004

QUOTE (92GTA @ Nov 28 2004, 09:05 PM) Quick follow-up....

Are Semprons 64-bit?
No.

EDIT: S754 Semprons have 64bit registers... but they are disabled. Socket A Semprons... nope, never, just rebranded Athlon XP's.

-------------------------
General discussion on IRC @ irc.protium.org / #forums.amd.irc ::: Folding for 34106

A64 2800 @ 2.2GHz | eVGA 6800 - NVS5 | VNF3-250 | TG-480 | ThermalTake Tsunami | Hitachi 7K250 | WD800JB
 11/28/2004 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

no
Semprons HAVE the 64-bit feature on the chip..
but its disabled

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/28/2004 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

NO
At least not the time to have.

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 11/28/2004 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

QUOTE (AzN_Pride @ Nov 28 2004, 06:07 PM) no
Semprons HAVE the 64-bit feature on the chip..
but its disabled
Can you enable it?

Fast replys, geez!

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 11/28/2004 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Not as far as I know.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 11/28/2004 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

You may if you try. But not recommended.

The core of Athlon 64 and Sempron (754pin) are the SAME.
Some people guest the AMD just locked the 64-bit processing ability to produce a Sempron.

Don't you think it cannot be modded to unlock this 64-bit function? I not recommend modding because it take a dozen of risk.

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 11/28/2004 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

thatd be interesting to see tho.....

like softmoddin a vcard

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 11/28/2004 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

QUOTE (zincschumacher @ Nov 28 2004, 06:11 PM) You may if you try. But not recommended.

The core of Athlon 64 and Sempron (754pin) are the SAME.
Some people guest the AMD just locked the 64-bit processing ability to produce a Sempron.

Don't you think it cannot be modded to unlock this 64-bit function? I not recommend modding because it take a dozen of risk.
considering the features are IN the core..
I dont see how u can do it..
unless u have those machines.. which cost prolly a couple billion dollars ? lol

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/28/2004 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superballz00
Senior Member

Posts: 1207
Joined: 08/16/2004

wat is SSE? mine said yes on SSE instructions but no on SSE2 instructions.
 11/28/2004 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

since ur using the XP... it will support SSE
SSE2 is newer... which is why the XP doesnt support it..
A64s do however

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/28/2004 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superballz00
Senior Member

Posts: 1207
Joined: 08/16/2004

n wat does SSE do? wats the benefit of it?
 11/28/2004 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

okay
SSE stands for Streaming SIMD Extensions which are dedicated instructions in the CPU for handling media applications.

SSE has 150 dedicated instructions.

The extensions enable all sorts of operations to be done faster than they could be otherwise - example, enabling floating-point operations to be executed simultaneously, giving double-precision operations, and allowing larger ranges and more flexible inputs and outputs on math operations.

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/28/2004 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superballz00
Senior Member

Posts: 1207
Joined: 08/16/2004

so its kina like hyperthreading? can i run 2 folding@home projects at the same time without loosing 50% preformance?
 11/28/2004 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

not even close

Hyper Threading and SSE are 2 completely different things..

SSE is for handeling Multimedia Applications..



some what similar to the MMX extension

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/28/2004 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Yeah I was looking at using this computer for video editing from our DV camcorder, somthing fun for my wife. I was going to run Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5 but I guess I'll take a look at Pinnacle Liquid Pro 6 and see if it also needs SSE. Does anybody know off hand?

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information