AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1.2ghz to 1.8GHz ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/30/2004 03:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/30/2004 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rartist
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/30/2004

I have a old Gateway Select 1200 (MSI Mobo, 133 bus, the dead end KT133) with a AMD Athlon 1.2ghz. I'm looking to upgrade it to something a little less primitive, say a 1.8ghz Athlon. I have seen the AMD Athlon XP 1.8GHz 2200+, and it sort of looks like it could be what I need. What is the relationship between FSB vs. Clocked System Bus? Is there any hope for my poor system?

Rob
 11/30/2004 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE (rartist @ Nov 30 2004, 12:50 PM) I have a old Gateway Select 1200 (MSI Mobo, 133 bus, the dead end KT133) with a AMD Athlon 1.2ghz. I'm looking to upgrade it to something a little less primitive, say a 1.8ghz Athlon. I have seen the AMD Athlon XP 1.8GHz 2200+, and it sort of looks like it could be what I need. What is the relationship between FSB vs. Clocked System Bus? Is there any hope for my poor system?

Rob
You're limited by the KT133 chipset to cpu's that use the 100x2 FSB setting, the fastest of which was the Athlon 1.4GHz...not much of a speed improvement over your 1.2 I'm afraid.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 12/01/2004 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rartist
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/30/2004

Anyone know what that part number could be? if I could pick one up cheap, it might be worth doing just to get over the 1.2 ghz limitations that are causing problems for me.
 12/01/2004 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gshv
B1FF

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/19/2004

QUOTE (rartist @ Dec 1 2004, 07:39 AM)Anyone know what that part number could be?

A1400AMS3B

Gennadiy
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information