AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Newbie needing help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/15/2004 08:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/15/2004 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Purec4
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/15/2004

Hi!
Need help. I have a 3 year old HP, I know piece of junk. But anyway, it's a model 8770-C, with Athlon slot processor. The number on it is AMD-A0850MPR24B A,
710029049062. The only numbers on the mother board K7M Rev.1.06, and on a bar code tag MS1071256-M7A000-A13-00578.
Any idea if and to what faster processor it can be upgraded to? And any other upgrade recomendations?
Thanks in advance for any help.
Greg
 05/15/2004 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi Purec4, and Welcome to the Forum!

The Slot A mobo that's in your HP is pretty limiting, all by itself. Does this look like yours???

The Slot A Athlons only went up to 1 gig, but the chance of finding one of those at a reasonable price today is slim to almost nil.
Here's an example of what I found on E-bay by punching 'AMD Slot A' into the search bar...
http://search.ebay.com/AMD-Slo...soke...QQfromZR8QQhtZ1' ">http://search.ebay.com/AMD-Slo...irectZ1QQfromZR8QQhtZ1
I only saw two Slot A CPUs faster than your 850, and they're kinda pricey.

The good news is that your Asus K7M motherboard got a very good review on Anandtech back in 1999!
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1079' ">http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1079

I think it's time to 'bite-the-bullet' and spring for a newer Socket A mobo.
If you decide to go that way, LMK, and I'll try to help you with your decision.

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 05/15/2004 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Purec4
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/15/2004

Thanks,
I'll look for new mother board and such if there's not much reason in trying to upgrade this one.
Greg
 05/15/2004 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

What sort of budget are we working with?

Do you want to keep the current system intact, and usable, as it is now, or are you willing to 'cannabalize' it, to create a new one?
Like, your vid card, CD-ROM, floppy, and probably your hard drive will still work with the 'latest and greatest', but your SDRAM won't.
However, there are boards available that will accept either SDRAM or DDR memory, like the K7S5A, and while it may NOT be the 'latest' or 'the greatest', but it's cheap.

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information