AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1.3 duron spec question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/19/2004 03:20 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/19/2004 03:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rob70
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/19/2004

I'm curious about what the max temp it should run at currently its at 53 degrees celcius. I havent been able to find it. I also am curious as to if I should change the clock speed to try for better performance currently its runing at 100Mhz/100Mhz. I am running a Socket A K7S5A motherboard 256 Mb memory. sorry Im not sure how to get the system information or I'd post more info.
 05/19/2004 05:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Max temp for your CPU is 90°C.
You can find the appropriate specs here' ">http://www.amd.com/gb-uk/asset...cification_Rev_ENG.pdf(goto p.6 for Duron-specs).
If you want to raise your FSB, you would prolly have to lower the processors' multiplier to get an acceptable result.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 05/19/2004 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Rob,

The best place to go to info about OC'ing a K7S5A would be the "Overclocking the K7S5A" section of http://p199.ezboard.com/bk7s5amotherboardforum' ">http://p199.ezboard.com/bk7s5amotherboardforum

But I can tell you right off the bat that " Go get SpeedFan from http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php' ">http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php " will be the first order of business!
You can use it to 'bump' your FSB from 100/100 to 103/103, 107/107 or 110/110.
Anything more than that and it's a guaranteed 'instant lockup'
So, you reboot, and you're back to 100/110

That 53°C is definitely on the warm, (but NOT hot) side, especially if you plan to overclock it.
Are you using a good, quality TIM, (like Arctic Silver 5), between the CPU and HS/F?


-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information