AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CPU Upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/02/2004 02:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/02/2004 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
souza41
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/02/2004

Hi, guys!

I'd like upgrade my AMD Athlon K7 500MHz - Model 1 - Slot A
(AMD - K7500MTR51B). My motheboard is Compaq SPS-BD1394. Any suggestion?

 03/02/2004 02:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ronin
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2793
Joined: 02/25/2004

QUOTE (souza41 @ Mar 1 2004, 11:17 PM) Hi, guys!

I'd like upgrade my AMD Athlon K7 500MHz - Model 1 - Slot A
(AMD - K7500MTR51B). My motheboard is Compaq SPS-BD1394. Any suggestion?
If you're using a proprietary system (which sure sounds like you are), updating to a newer CPU isn't really a recommended avenue. As much as it might pain you to endure the cost of building a new system , you may want to consider that avenue.
 03/02/2004 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Check the local papers for a complete used system, cheaper than a upgrade.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 03/02/2004 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
molliedgreat
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Joined: 01/31/2004

Don't lose hope...you can still upgrade your system. You just need to buy a new motherboard, CPU, RAM modules (memory), graphics adapter (if you get an AGP 3.0) and maybe a case and power supply too. You can still use your floppy drive, hard drive, cdrom drive, monitor, modem, network interface card, sound card, etc.

The thing with compaq or other proprietary systems is that they use components that are not industry standard and the documentation/information they provide for the components is very limited. So when you have to upgrade components within your PC, you just can't buy the replacement part from other vendors or use a standard component. You have to buy it from them which will be much much more expensive.

-------------------------
Barya Lang Po Sa Umaga.
__________________________________________________
Product of the Philippines
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information