AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD K-6 3D 600MHz.....What CPU socket do I need?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/08/2004 08:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/08/2004 08:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zac_haryy
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/08/2004

Well I have a computer that I am fixing for somebody and I went to turn it on but there is no screen display. The Video card is on the mobo. So I am guessing that it is a the mobo that is fried. Anyways this computer has a AMD K-6 3D 600MHz and I am wondering what motherboard I should get for it so that the processor works with it? I can't find much information about it. From what I have seen I think that I need a Socket 7 mobo. Is this right?? Thanks!!!

Also it would be great if the mobo supports PC133 RAM.

-haryy
 03/08/2004 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NOP
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/09/2004

EPOX MVp3 with 686A

-------------------------
TYan S2466-4m (AMDchip)
Althon MP 2400+ Dual (0.13)
Transcand 512MB ECC DDR 266 x 2 + Ramos 512MB ECC DDR266 x 1
WD 800JB + WD800JB + WD1200JB
LG 4082 8X +/- DVD writer
Power VR 2 Kyro 32MB AGP
Creative SBlive Value Sound card
3com 3c920 Lan card on board
1394/USB 2.0 NEC combo card
Promise ATA-133 TX2 PCI IDE card x2
Enermax EP 495( 485W )
 03/08/2004 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zac_haryy
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/08/2004

What this mean: EPOX MVp3
NEVERMIND...Im stupid

You know of any that have a Video output also?


-haryy
 03/08/2004 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pike
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/27/2003

Your processor is overclocked. Correct the settings, it may start.
 03/08/2004 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zac_haryy
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/08/2004

There's no video at all though. How can I switch it?



-haryy
 03/09/2004 01:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pike
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/27/2003

Set your jumpers correctly on the motherboard. Take the processor out and see what it is. If it is a 550, set your jumpers to 100 x 5.5 etc. If you have no video, how do you know what processor is in the machine? AMD never made a K6-600 that I know of.
 03/10/2004 06:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

QUOTE (zac_haryy @ Mar 8 2004, 05:24 PM) Well I have a computer that I am fixing for somebody and I went to turn it on but there is no screen display. The Video card is on the mobo. So I am guessing that it is a the mobo that is fried. Anyways this computer has a AMD K-6 3D 600MHz and I am wondering what motherboard I should get for it so that the processor works with it? I can't find much information about it. From what I have seen I think that I need a Socket 7 mobo. Is this right?? Thanks!!!

Also it would be great if the mobo supports PC133 RAM.

-haryy
It should work on just about any Super Socket 7 motherboard. You can get good ones 2nd hand very cheap, and some shops may still have old stock they'll be happy to get rid of.
 03/14/2004 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

Looks like the K6-2+ or K6-III+ chip - intended for mobile use and made at a these speeds: 450/500/500/550MHz. They work on some boards. but need a BIOS that is capable of accepting them and a board that can supply ideally 2.0v or failing that as close as possible, i.e. 2.2v.

Both the + chips normally need 3.3v I/O voltage and 2.0v core voltage (double-check the core, it will be printed on the chip). They use a 100MHz FSB (front-side-bus), which is the speed at which the chip talks to the chipset: a 550MHz CPU refers to a core frequency of 550MHz, multiplied by 5.5 since we are using a 100MHz FSB.

Keep a note of your DIP switches, on the actual board. Half of them will set the FSB and the other half, the multiplier; sometimes you can use a light to see the settings which may be actually etched on the board along with the board model istelf. IF you can get the model make and number of your board you're neally there.

With the K6-III+ hwoever, you may have a 450MHz model which while good for over-clocking, doesn't like running at 600MHz without some core voltage alterations. This may be the reason for no video and the best thing to do is as suggested just aim for a very safe, default setup. Try and run her at the speed stated on the front of the chip, making sure that your core voltage is nothing higher than 2.2v for safety and that your FSB speed is at 100MHz (a lot of older boards dindn't go below 2.2v and FSB speeds like 112MHz need good PC100 RAM or ideally PC133). Raising a FSB speed beyond 100MHz with integrated video is tricky because of the way the AGP and PCI speeds work - in short, avoid speeds like 124MHz or 133MHz if they're offered.

Also note: You may see that your range of multipliers is limited to 5.5 on the board itself; how come you have a 600MHz unnoficial CPU? Because AMD knew of the 5.5x limitation and got round this with a clever bit of internal hardware in the CPU; set the multiplier to 2x and the CPU will re-map this to 6x.

Sorry about the randomness of this post, I have to dash out. Hope it helps in some small way - I would try and see what make of board you have and what version so that you can get a manual or do some searching. These boards are very cheap these days, so don't give up hope; if you have a working CPU you have a very good one at that!

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information