AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Memory Upgrade K6 2 Processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/11/2004 03:46 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/11/2004 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Compbalch
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/11/2004

Hi, This is my first post on this forum. I have acquired an AMD computer with 64 MB of ram and a 330 mhz K6 2 processor. The Motherboard has two 32 MB sims.
The Motherboard number is P5T30 - B4. Board Rev. 1.4

Could you please advise as to the maximum amount of ram I can upgrade. It has been a while since I purchased ram, so I would also need to know what type of ram I should be buying. I hope I have provided enough information, if not please let me know what else I can provide.

Thanks.
 09/11/2004 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Board appears to be a Tekram P5T30 - B4. It can support an AMD K6-2 266MHz, 366MHz CPU ( http://keep.free.fr/Temp/tekram.html' ">http://keep.free.fr/Temp/tekram.html ). i430TX. (4) 72-pin SIMM Sockets & (2) 168-pin DIMM Sockets support a maximum 256MB RAM (16Mbit, 64Mbit Technology) per the page below -

http://www.tekram.com/ProductSpec.ASP?Product=P5T30-B4' ">http://www.tekram.com/ProductSpec.ASP?Product=P5T30-B4

Latest BIOS is v1.12, 7/1/1998

Possible to BIOS patch for a K6-2/III+??? The Vcore jumpers look good for this...

UPDATE: Jan Steunebrink is looking for beta testers. BIOS has been already pached. See my sig.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 09/11/2004 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

just to be 100% sure run sisoft sandra to get all of the deatails of your board, get it from my sig.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 09/11/2004 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Charlie -

It's easier than that. Don't have the guy download a massive program just to resolve his motherboard ID. The BIOS ID line will tell you all you need to know.

Now maybe when he wants to test it...

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information