AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Would This Be...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/22/2004 08:59 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/22/2004 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

Hi! I want to build a good folding machine/computer. The computer should be based on an AMD K6-III+, K6-III-P, or K6-III processor. Can someone list or point out a possible setup? I really appreciate it and please keep in mind that I'm willing to spend only $150 since my friend has a some AMD K6-III series processors he is willing to sell to me for $30 each. Please reply soon with a possible setup and where to get the components!
 09/22/2004 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

hey there , get that K6-III+, if you do you will have a peice of gold because of how rare they are. also 128Mb pc133 SDRAM and a asus p5a or gigabyte ga-5ax motherboard will be awsome with this board, for a psu a 400W unit should be fine. also you will need a case and some drives (harddisk and cdrom as well as floppy), newegg.com is a great place to find these things, just post what you find here so we can make sure its what will suite what you want to do. also a good socketA cpu made for athlonXP 2100+ cpu's will also work wonders and allow for crazy overclocks. best thing to do is search newegg.com for something thats in your price range and post it here.
i will post more but i cant think of anything else right now.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 09/22/2004 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

Well these are the components I have at home.

2 x 1 GB PC100 SDRAM
1 x K6-III+ 550 MHz
1 x DVD Reader
1 x DVD+RW
1 x 3 1/2 Floppy
1 x 36 GB SCSI HDD
1 x 18 GB SCSI HDD
1 x nVidia Vanta 16 MB on PCI
1 x Windows 2000 Professional OS CD

I don't know where to find the MOBO, case, and PSU. Please help!
 09/23/2004 04:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Megadeth,

You are going to run into difficulty finding any mobo in the K6 series (Socket 7), that will even recognize a 1 GB stick of PC100 SDRAM.

I don't know what kind of budget you are on, but if it's as tight as mine, here's an 'ElCheapo' 400 watt PSU for $11.00...
I've got one on order now... it's got +3.3@28A, +5@30A, +12@25A
http://store.mrtechus.com/powmax40pows.html' ">http://store.mrtechus.com/powmax40pows.html
You can't expect to run a Barton @ 3200+ with that one, but for your setup it'll do just fine... and it's got 25A on the 12v line.
Charlie bought one on my recommendation and he's happy with his (or was, or will be again)

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 09/23/2004 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

Listen, I'm on a tight budget because I recently built an Athlon 64 3500+ system which stays on all the time; it is a gaming server with extreme high bandwith so other gamers end up using its resources to the point that nothing is left, not even for folding. That is why I need to go Elcheapo. Can anyone find out where the [content edited] I'm suppose to find this stuff!
 09/24/2004 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

ebay.com

Copy 'Asus P5A' into the seach bar and then click 'Find it'
You DON'T want an ASUS P5A-B, and you wan't REV: 1.04, or older

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 09/26/2004 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

i thought it was revision 1.4 or before???
asus P5a's have above a 100Mhz fsb so overclocking is wonderful on this thing.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information