AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Would like to upgrade Processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/13/2004 02:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/13/2004 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
margaz
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 10/13/2004

Can anyone explain to me how I can upgrade my processor into a more recent amd processor or something better than the one I currently have? Also how good is the processor that I have now?
 10/13/2004 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

run wcpuid from, my 'sig' so we can see what you have in there.
also do you know what board you have, if not download sisoft sandra from my 'sig' as well.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 10/17/2004 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
margaz
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 10/13/2004

what kind of athlon processor can I upgrade to with this motherboard?

SiSoftware Sandra

System
Manufacturer : System Manufacturer
Model : Product Name
Version : SYS-xxxxxx
Serial Number : Serial number xxxxxx
ID : 00000000-00000000-00000000-00000000

System Chassis
Manufacturer : Manufactory Name
Can be locked : No
Version : Version XX

Mainboard
Manufacturer : First International Computer, Inc.
MP Support : No
Model : PAG2130
Version : PCB 1.x
System BIOS : 11/16/1999-MVP4-686A-2A5LHF0AC-00
Chipset : VIA Apollo MVP4

Memory Controller
Error Detection Method : None
Error Correction Capability : 1-bit
Supported/Current Memory Interleave : 4-way / 1-way
Number of Memory Slots : 3
Maximum Installable Memory : 768MB
Maximum Module Size : 256MB
Supported SDRAM Speeds : PC66, PC100
Supported Memory Types : Parity, ECC, DIMM, SDRAM
Supported Memory Voltages : +5V, +3.3V

Physical/BIOS Memory Banks
BANK_0 (RASL-0 RASL-1) : 64MB DIMM SDRAM single-bank
BANK_1 (RASL-2 RASL-3) : 32MB DIMM SDRAM single-bank
BANK_2 : Empty

Chipset 1
Model : VIA Technologies Inc VT8501 Apollo MVP4 System Controller
Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB i2c/SMBus
L2 External Cache : 512kB Pipeline-Burst Write-Thru
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 97MHz (97MHz data rate)
Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory Speed : 1x 100MHz / 1x 100MHz
Width : 64-bit

Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 64MB SDRAM 2-3-3-0CL
Bank 2 : 32MB SDRAM 2-3-3-0CL
Speed : 1x 97MHz (97MHz data rate)
Multiplier : 1/1x
Width : 64-bit
Power Save Mode : No
Fixed Hole Present : No

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module 1 : 64MB 8x(8Mx8) SDRAM PC100-333-622 (CL3 up to 125MHz) (CL2 up to 83MHz)
Memory Module 2 : Apacer Technology 32MB 4x(4Mx16) SDRAM PC100-222-622 (CL3 up to 100MHz) (CL2 up to 100MHz)

Environment Monitor 1
Model : VIA 686PM PCI
Version : 8.00
Mainboard Specific Support : Yes

Temperature Sensor(s)
Board Temperature : 24.1°C / 75.4°F
CPU Temperature : 47.5°C / 117.5°F
Power / Aux Temperature : 26.7°C / 80.1°F

Voltage Sensor(s)
CPU Voltage : 2.23V
+3.3V Voltage : 3.36V
+5V Voltage : 5.10V
+12V Voltage : 12.19V

AGP Bus(es) on Hub 1
Version : 2.00
Speed : 2x 64MHz (128MHz data rate)
Multiplier : 1/2x
Fast-Writes Enabled : No
Side Band Enabled : Yes
Aperture Size : 64MB

PCI Bus(es) on Hub 1
Version : 2.10
Number of Bridges : 1
PCI Bus 0 : PCI (32MHz)
Multiplier : 1/3x

LPC Hub Controller 1
Model : VIA Technologies Inc VT82C686/A PCI to ISA Bridge
ACPI Power Management Enabled : Yes
Multiplier : 1/4x
Speed : 8MHz
DMA Multiplier : 1/2x
DMA Speed : 4MHz

USB Controller 1
Model : VIA Technologies Inc VT82C686A USB Controller
Version : 1.10
Interface : UHCI
Channels : 2
Speed : 48MHz
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

USB Controller 2
Model : VIA Technologies Inc VT82C686A USB Controller
Version : 1.10
Interface : UHCI
Channels : 2
Speed : 48MHz
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

System SMBus Controller 1
Model : Intel/VIA PIIX4 SMBus
Advanced TCO Mode Enabled : No
Slave Device Enabled : Yes
PEC Support : No
Speed : 16kHz

Expansion Slot(s)
ISA : ISA 16-bit +5V Full-Length
PCI (3h) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Used (3COM Corp, Modem Division (Formerly US Robotics) USR 56k Internal WinModem (Model 3595))
PCI (4h) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Used (D-Link Inc DFE-530TX+ Fast Ethernet Adapter)
PCI (5h) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Used (ATI Technologies Rage 3D Pro PCI (PQFP Package))
PCI (6h) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Available
AGP (8h) : AGP 32-bit +5V Full-Length Available (Trident Microsystems CyberBlade i7/VIA MVP4)

Port Connector
PRIMARY IDE : None - ATA / None
SECONDARY IDE : None - ATA / None
FDD : 8251 FIFO - Floppy Disk / None
COM1 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
COM2 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
LPT1 : Parallel Port ECP/EPP - DB-25 pin female / DB-25 pin female
Keyboard : Keyboard - None / PS/2
PS/2 Mouse - No Detected : Mouse - PS/2 / PS/2
USB : USB - None / None

Performance Tips
Notice 224 : SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
Tip 2505 : System does not support memory error detection. Some memory errors may go unnoticed.
Tip 2511 : Some memory slots are free so the memory can be easily upgraded.
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Warning 2528 : System monitor device implementation is known to vary.
Notice 2527 : Compensation was added to external temperature sensors.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
 10/17/2004 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
compboy494
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 10/07/2003

You can not go from a K6 processor to an Athlon on the same board. Sorry man.

-------------------------
MSI KT4V AMD 2500+ @2.08GHZ 2xWestern Digital 80GB SE HD's FX5900NU 1024MB OCsystem PC3200 w/copper heatspreaders Sound Blaster Audigy Netgear GA302 Gigabit Lite-on 52x24x52 CDRW Mat*****a 16X DVD-ROM
 10/18/2004 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

FIC PAG-2130, thats your motherboard.

VIA Apollo MVP4 is the chipset.

CPU's supported:
ftp://ftp.fic.com.tw/motherboa...e/socket7/PAG-2130.pdf' ">ftp://ftp.fic.com.tw/motherboa...tabl...t7/PAG-2130.pdf

With the correct ram and latest bios you can use up to a K6-3-500 CPU

You can find K6-3 450 cpu's here:
http://www.jlmtech.net/catalog...hp?a...20343b606b7a168' ">http://www.jlmtech.net/catalog...950f2e920343b606b7a168

Upgrade route...
Purchase:
k6-3, 450MHz @ JLM (~$50 + shipping)
PC 133 Ram, 256-512Mb

A socket A cooler that can handle up to a XP3200+ (~77W) Overkill but will keep the cpu cool.

Install the cpu, faster Ram and the heatsink. Set the bus speed to 5x100 and enjoy.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 10/18/2004 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

dont confuse that with the K6-III+ cpus, wich your board wont run (offically any how), also someone else in the forums here has tried to overclock a K6-III 450 to 500 and failed, try to find a K6-III 500 if you can.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 10/21/2004 02:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
margaz
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 10/13/2004

Thanks for all the info.
I'm trying to build a new computer and I need to know what all this means.
Does anybody what I can do about my new hard drive (160 gb) my computer can't read it?
 10/21/2004 05:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

try going to the manufacturers web site and find a bios update, if you are lucky then there is one that supports the 160Gb parts.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information