AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD-K6 3D Processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/13/2004 04:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/13/2004 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lowtech woman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/13/2004

I have just been given a computer, and want to know what the speed of this computer is. When looking at the control panel on the PC, under System Properties it says:

EQUUS Computer Systems
Noblis
Authentic AMD
AMD-K6™ 3D processer
60mb RAM

Someone told me they think it's 400 MegaHz. How can I find that information? Am I looking in the wrong place for this information?
Thank You!
lowtech woman
 10/13/2004 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi lowtech woman, and Welcome to the AMD Forum!

If you shut down, and then imediately reboot, you should see the processor speed displayed on your first POST screen, at or near, the top.

If that doesn't work, run ANY of the programs listed below (ALL are free programs), to get all the pertinent details about what CPU you actually have in there, and what speed it's currently running at.
Make a note of the L2 cache, the multiplier, the FSB, and the Family - Model - Stepping ID...
From that info, we can figure out exactly what it is you have, and what it should be running at.
WCPUID, http://www.h-oda.com/' ">http://www.h-oda.com/
CBID, http://cbid.amdclub.ru/' ">http://cbid.amdclub.ru/
CPU-Z, http://www.cpuid.com/' ">http://www.cpuid.com/
CrystalCPUID, http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en' ">http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en
SysID, http://home20.inet.tele.dk/sysid/' ">http://home20.inet.tele.dk/sysid/
Sandra, http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/in...?dir...all&langx=en&a=' ">http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/in...are_dl_all&langx=en&a=
Everest Home Edition http://www.lavalys.com/product...ew.p...ang=en&pageid=1' ">http://www.lavalys.com/product...pid=1&lang=en&pageid=1
SpeedFan, http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php' ">http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 10/14/2004 09:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Even easier...

Go to Jan's site and download his CPUCHK program (17KB ZIPfile).

http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/chkcpu.htm' ">http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/chkcpu.htm

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 10/14/2004 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lowtech woman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/13/2004

Hi Milt and KachiWachi,
thank you both SO much. I've never used a forum before and actually gotten a reply. The suggestions you've made are very helpful. Thanks again!
~Your LowTech Woman
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information