AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which utilities do I need
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/08/2004 02:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/08/2004 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

First post so be gentle...

Hope someone can help me as I am totally lost on this stuff...

I have an old system which I am rebuilding and installing XP Pro on.

My current system is an Epox 8K7A+ motherboard (with RAID) and an AMD Athlon (Model 4) Socket A (Socket 462) processor running at 1.4GHz.

What I need to know, is which utilities I need to install?
For example, AGP Miniport, Driver Pack, etc.
I've looked on the AMD site but it's all Dutch to me.

If anyone can help, it would be greatly appreciated.

(and the same goes for the Epox mobo - what do I need for that - VIA 4in1, Bus Master, USB Filter Driver, etc.)


-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/08/2004 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

First, download and install the appropriate AGP-driver for your O/S here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...0_182_871_2336,00.html - you won't need the driver pack or anything else, just the AGP-driver.

Then install the 4-in-1's, but make sure you DO NOT install the AGP-driver component.
Installing Bus Master and especially USB filter drivers might be a good idea, too.
After that, install the appropriate drivers for audio, RAID, videocard, etc.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/08/2004 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Thanks Greyhound.

One last question...

When I go to the Epox site to download the drivers (http://www.epox.nl/english/sup...rs.htm#driverdownload) , there are several options of which 2 are:
Drivers VIA chipset mainboards
Drivers AMD chipset mainboards

Both options seem to have drivers that are suitable so which should I use?

Thanks.

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/08/2004 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

The 'AMD-chipset' option would probably be the most appropriate, since a great number of motherboards with the AMD-760 chipset used VIA's 82686B Southbridge.
If you prefer, you can download the 4-in-1's as well as the Bus-master and USB filter drivers directly from VIA's site' ">http://www.viaarena.com and only get the drivers for the rest of your on-board components(audio, RAID, etc) from Epox.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/08/2004 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Thanks again.

I'll go off and download the appropriate drivers and then report back if/when I get it all working.

Expect to hear from me in about a month or so...

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/08/2004 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Right, just been and downloaded all drivers from EPoX, AMD, VIA and HighPoint.

As far as I can determine, I need to install the following:

HighPoint
HPT370A Controller - v2.351

AMD
AGP Driver v5.33

EPoX
Hyperion 4in1 v1.451

VIA
IDE Miniport v3.20b
USB Filter v1.10
Audio Codec v5.40a

Does that list look about right?

Do I need to install them in any particular order?

One last thing.
I notice that there are different versions of certain files on the various sites.
For example, the audio codec on the VIA site is v5.40a whereas on the EPoX site it is v3.90a.
Same goes for the IDE Miniport and HPT370A drivers - the drivers on the EPoX site for both of these are older than those on the VIA and HighPoint sites.

In this situation, am I OK to install the latest driver from the maunfacturers sites?

Last post.....I promise....



-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/09/2004 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE Does that list look about right?

Do I need to install them in any particular order?

Personally, i would install the AGP-driver first, then the 4-in-1/Hyperion drivers(WITHOUT the AGP-component), then install the rest in no particular order.
QUOTE In this situation, am I OK to install the latest driver from the maunfacturers sites?
Yes, motherboard manufacturers often have outdated drivers on their sites...if anything won't work, just uninstall the driver and try the driver from your motherboard manufacturer instead.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/09/2004 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Thanks once again Greyhound.

Although, all of your efforts may be in vain...

Someone pointed me in the direction of Sisoft Sandra and I now find my PC is a Lada running on 3 cylinders!

I'm now thinking I should upgrade my mobo at least and possibly also my CPU...

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/09/2004 03:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi Brogan,

Re: Sandra... she's a nice girl, but I wouldn't trust her any farther than I could throw her.
e.g. check the 'Barton 2500+' link in my sig below.
She says my FSB is "2x 150"
Right below that she says my "Max FSB is 2x 100"
Come on girl, you can't have it both ways!
The only thing I use her for these days is the "Memory Bandwidth Benchmark"

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 07/09/2004 04:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Thanks for the heads up Milt.

Although in my case it's probably about right - my system is 4 years old after all...

I have just flashed my BIOS though and it is now fully up to date.
Well, if you can call Sep 23 2002 up to date...

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/09/2004 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Like Milt pointed out, i wouldn't trust SiSoft Sandra too much.

It's an excellent Sysinfo-utility that does a pretty decent job in identifying most of the components of a computer(which is very useful if you don't know what you're dealing with), but when it comes to properly recognize things such as clockspeeds, temperatures, etc, it's not really reliable....the same goes for the 'tips'/'suggestions' it gives you

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/09/2004 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Brogan,

I just had a quick look, on the Epox website, at your EP-8K7A, and it says that it supports... QUOTE Processor: AMD Athlon, Athlon XP, DuronSource: http://www.epox.com/USA/product.asp?id=EP-8K7A' ">http://www.epox.com/USA/product.asp?id=EP-8K7A
If it'll handle an XP, there may be a cheap and easy up-grade path for you, either with the Palomino (which went from 1500+ to 2100+ in the 'Desktop' versions), or possibly with a Duron Applebred, which currently is available as 1600, and 1800 MHz models.
But the Applebreds are based on the T-bred 'B' core, and it may or may not work on your mobo.
The Palominos are getting hard to find, but the Durons are everywhere, and they're dirt cheap at $41 to $45 on http://www.pricewatch.com/' ">http://www.pricewatch.com/

Hopefully, Greyhound will know whether your AMD-761 Chipset is capable of supporting one of these later CPUs




-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 07/09/2004 04:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Thanks for that Milt.

If I do upgrade, I'd probably be more interested in swapping the mobo rather than the CPU.
That way I can get USB 2, onboard LAN, wireless, etc.
I've just had to buy a 4 port PCI USB card as my mobo only has 2 USB ports...

I've been putting off upgrading for so long as it's taken me about 3 years to tweak ME just the way I like it.
Now that I'm going for a new OS, it would be the logical time to upgrade the mobo/CPU too.

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/09/2004 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE Hopefully, Greyhound will know whether your AMD-761 Chipset is capable of supporting one of these later CPUs
Well, the chipset itself should be able to support any Athlon/Duron/Athlon XP processor with a 133MHz FSB.

According to Epox' ftp://ftp.epox.com/downloads/FAQ/cpu-support-mature.pdf' ">CPU Support list, the fastest *officially* supported processor is an Athlon XP 2200+(model 8) - a faster 133MHz FSB Athlon XP(i.e. an AXP 2400+ or 2600+ with a 133MHz FSB if you can find one) may work, but it can't be guaranteed...

If you want to stick with Socket A, you might want to wait until motherboards using NVidia's new NForce2 Ultra 400Gb/R chipset(s) become available.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/09/2004 05:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

QUOTE (Greyhound @ Jul 9 2004, 01:40 AM) If you want to stick with Socket A, you might want to wait until motherboards using NVidia's new NForce2 Ultra 400Gb/R chipset(s) become available.
I've got no particular reason to go for any model/make,
I only have socket A now because that's what the system came with originally.

If i was to upgrade, what would be a recommended mobo/cpu?

I don't use the PC for games or DVDs, etc., just Office applications, music playback, etc.

I just want something newer with the latest features, etc.

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/09/2004 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE If i was to upgrade, what would be a recommended mobo/cpu?

I don't use the PC for games or DVDs, etc., just Office applications, music playback, etc.
Hmmm...in regards to processing power, you don't really need an Athlon 64 if you're only doing office and some light applications(no gaming, video-editing, photoshop, etc.).

However, you would get a system that is going to last quite awhile and you'll also benefit from some nice features like Cool'n'Quiet(reduces heat/noise and power consumption), enhanced virus protection(NX aka 'Execution prevention' with Win XP SP2) and of course 64-bit capability

I would suggest something like an Athlon 64 2800+ or 3000+, MSI K8N Neo Platinum motherboard and a single 512MB stick of PC3200 memory from a good brand.
Maybe wait until the Socket 754 Semprons are released in mid-august, if you want to save a few $$.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/09/2004 06:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Thanks again Greyhound.

Thats sounds about OK for my use and also keeps me future-proof for at least another few years...

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
 07/09/2004 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brogan
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/08/2004

Help please.....

I've got XP installed but can't get my RAID controller working.

My C drive is on the IDE port so it's not causing any problems but my backup drive (E) is on my UIDE 1 and so I can't back up my data.

I've tried the latest drivers from the mobo manufacturers site and also HighPoint's site but no joy.

I know you have to press F6 when installing Windows if the drive is on the RAID channel but how do you do it after you've installed Windows?

I've done a Google but can't find the answer.

Almost there....

-------------------------
Case: Jeantech Apollo
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 | +12V@28A | +5V@48A | +3.3V@28A | -12V@1.0A | -5V@0.8A | +5VSB@2.5A
MB: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum | Zalman ZM-NB47J | BIOS 1.4
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm
RAM: Crucial PC3200 Ballistix 512MB x 2 | 2-2-2-10@1T
GFX: Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 XT 256MB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA NCQ x 1 | Seagat
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information