AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Maximum overclocking for AMD K-6 II 500
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/06/2004 07:41 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/06/2004 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jsmith
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/02/2004

Hi someone is selling a secondhand AMD K-6 II 500, I want to know how much can I overclock it if I buy 512mb ram and a seagate cheetah 80gb hard drive?
 12/06/2004 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

I'm afraid the question you ask doesn't make any sense. The quantity of RAM and size of the hard drive doesn't have anything to do with the overclockability of the CPU. A Socket 7 motherboard may have difficulty handling large memory volumes and an 80gb hdd, it depends on the motherboard. I don't know whether you mean you want to buy a CPU or an entire system. A K6-II isn't going to overclock too far, and being overclocked won't speed it up that much anyway as it doesn't have any L2 cache. A K6-2+, K6-3 or K6-III+ would be faster if you're looking for an upgrade.
 12/06/2004 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

The memory and the hard drive may be useful, but there's some unknowns as eddaweaver suggested.

What do you want to do with the system at the end of the day? See, the technology has moved on a bit and K6-II systems are OK for only general-purpose stuff like typing letters, web browsing and cd-burning. For games, well even with a fast grafix cards new games struggle.

If you want a better, deal, buy a cheap Duron setup ideally new. If you want to transfer the memory, you may be able to use it in an older Socket A board that can accept this older type of RAM.

The K6-II uses SDRAM. New boards use DDR SDRAM.

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information