AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Wondering about the type of processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/10/2004 09:19 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/10/2004 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Puckeye
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/10/2004


Hello,

I wonder if someone could tell me what type of processor I have. The s/n on the sticker on the pins side is 193965. On teh top side you have a number (27016) etched on the lower left corner (based on the orientation of the AMD logo).

Any info would be grattly appreciated
 12/11/2004 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

u want to tun the chip over from the pin side and look at the center. get the numers from there

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 12/19/2004 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mavrick0396
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2004

I have a amd athlon cpu and dont know what I can upgrade to it has 457 pins and the numbers on the cpu are:
AX2000DMT3C
AG0IA0216APAW
95058030506
(1999) AMD
can someone help me find out what i can upgrade to. i want to get something around 2.4 ghz. thank you
 12/19/2004 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

That cpu is an Athlon XP2000+.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/...thlo...X2000DMT3C.html' ">http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/...20-%20AX2000DMT3C.html

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 12/19/2004 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mavrick0396
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2004

what processor can i use to make my computer faster and how fast can i go?
 12/19/2004 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Won't know until you give us your system specs...

You can download and run Belarc advisor and it will give the info on your system if you don't know.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 12/19/2004 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mavrick0396
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2004

HERE IS WHAT YOU ASKED FOR.


80.02GB 69.52GB free Network Drives
Operating System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600)
Processor a
1.25 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP 128 kilobyte primary memory cache 256 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Drives
80.02 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity 69.52 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
SONY DVD RW DW-U18A [CD-ROM drive] TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-M1202 [CD-ROM drive] 3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]
WDC WD800BB-OOCAA1 [Hard drive] (80.03 GB) -drive 0, s/n WD-WMA8E3211219, rev 17.07W17, SMART Status: Healthy

System Model
ECSK7S5A1.0 Asset Tag: 0123 ABC
Main Circuit Board b
Board: ECS K7S5A 1.0
Bus Clock: 66 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 07.00T 04/02/01
Memory Modules c>
512 Megabytes Installed Memory
Slot '0' has 256 MB Slot'1'has 256 MB Slot '2' is Empty Slot '3' is Empty
Local Drive Volumes
c: (on drive 0)

None detected


Users
Printers


local user accounts
last logon
12/19/2004 10:54:56 AM local system accounts
Administrator never
ASPNET
Guest
Lexmark XI100 Series
onUSBOOl
(admin)
(admin)
never
12/16/20045:45:58
PM
never
X HelpAssistant x
SUPPORT 388945aO never
 12/19/2004 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

You have a K7S5A motherboard.

They officially support up to XP2600 266 version.

Best bang for buck upgrade is XP2400+ & XP-M2600+

Both are drop in and go replacements.

You'll need DDR266 or DDR333 ram too.

Unofficial K7S5A forum:
http://p199.ezboard.com/bk7s5amotherboardforum' ">http://p199.ezboard.com/bk7s5amotherboardforum

Rebels Haven K7S5A forum:
http://www.rhcf.com/sis-bin/ul....cgi...gi/forum/1.html' ">http://www.rhcf.com/sis-bin/ultimatebb.cgi/forum/1.html?

I have the same motherboard.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 12/19/2004 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mavrick0396
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2004

what is ddr266 and ddr333?
that is memory right?
i have 512 mb of ram now.
should i replace my heatsink and fan?
 12/22/2004 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Yes it's memory.

Ram types VS cpu types.
Memory:

PC3200 = DDR400 memory is required when setting the FSB clock to 200. 400 Bus. ie XP3200+
PC2700 = DDR333 memory is required when setting the FSB clock to 166. 333 Bus. ie XP2500+, Socket A Semprons
PC2100 = DDR266 memory is required when setting the FSB clock to 133. 266 Bus. ie XP2400+, Duron 1.6 & 1.8
PC1600 = DDR200 memory is required when setting the FSB clock to 100. 200 Bus. ie Athlon 1.4 (200) Duron 950

Replace you heatsink and fan only if it is not working properly. When you go to a faster cpu, you may need to get a better heatsink and fan.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 12/22/2004 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi mavrick0396,

Just to add a bit, (well, a lot, actually), of info to MD's reply above...

Since all memory is 'backward compatible' I would suggest that you spend the few extra $ now and buy the faster PC3500 ( which can run at 100 MHz, 133 MHz, 166 MHz, 200 MHz, or it's rated 216), knowing that it will be 'good-to-go' on your next mobo upgrade.
Or, even better would be PC4000... and it is NOT that much more expensive.

You will also realize an immediate benefit with the faster memory now, because you will be able to run it in your current system with VERY 'aggressive' memory timings.

I have never regretted spending good money on good memory.
I have all-to-often regretted spending ANY money on on 'no-name' memory.
Don't skimp by buying 'no-name' bargain memory... it is very false economy.

Just in case you are not familiar with this new DDR thing, this little chart compares the new 'PC' rating system, to the 'DDR' rating, to the actual 'Maximum MHz' that the memory is 'rated' to run at....
But the same 166 MHz = 333 DDR applies to CPUs and mobos as well.

PC# vs. = DDR# vs. = MHz

PC1600 = DDR200 = 100Mhz
PC2100 = DDR266 = 133Mhz
PC2700 = DDR333 = 166Mhz
PC3200 = DDR400 = 200Mhz
PC3500 = DDR433 = 216Mhz
PC3600 = DDR450 = 225Mhz
PC3700 = DDR466 = 233Mhz
PC4000 = DDR500 = 250Mhz
PC4200 = DDR533 = 266Mhz
PC4400 = DDR550 = 275Mhz
PC4500 = DDR566 = 283Mhz
PC??00 = DDR600 = 300Mhz


please note that the 'DDR rating' is always exactly double the 'actual speed in MHz' that it was designed to run at.
DDR (or Double Data Rate) memory is also SDRAM memory, but DDR SDRAM is able to read info or 'data' on BOTH the rising and falling edge of a pulse...
Hence the name... "Double Data Rate, Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory" (or DDR SDRAM for short, or, usually, just DDR )...
SDRAM can only read it on one edge of the pulse.
But, DDR266 is still only running at an actual 133 MHz

The same thing applies to processors, and mobos, that are rated as 166/333 (or, to use the Marketing boys description, as a '333 CPU'... a '333' processor is running at 166 MHz. Period. End of story.
Only on the very newest, fastest, mobos will you ever find any setting in your CMOS Setup that allows you to set it to '333'...
and that's because it ACTUALLY RUNS AT 166 MHz

I know that it's extremely confusing, and frustrating, and it certainly was to me at first, but I really DO HOPE that this helps SOMEBODY with understanding this VERY confusing nomenclature.



-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information