AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: duron 1ghz proscessor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/12/2004 03:06 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/12/2004 03:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
humanj
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/12/2004

is it posible to run a duron 1ghz processor on a matsonic ms8188e mainbord. it is a 2600mhz mainbord but matsonic replies that i can do it but i don't whant to damadge the processor.
 12/12/2004 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

any Socket A motherboard should run a 1GHz Duron. Just make sure the front side bus is set to 100MHz when you first boot up, and that the heatsink is on properly.

Btw, what do you mean by 2600MHz mainboard? The only thing I can think of is that it takes up to a 2600+ Thoroughbred B for 133MHz FSB
 12/12/2004 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

All the numbers associated with motherboards and processors can be confusing, especially if you are new at this (and sometimes even if you're not!.

But your Matsonic MS8188E definitely supports Duron 1GHz.

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information