Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Duron Processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/02/2003 06:49 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2003 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
didesign

I am new to the AMD market and am looking at upgrading some very old comluters. I have seen some great deals on a 1.0Ghz Duron based bare bones system that will allow me to utilize the RAM and other peripherials that I currently own. My question is where the Duron falls in the family of AMD processors. I don't want to buy a "celeron" type CPU. Can anyone help me?
 11/04/2003 07:25 AM

Author Icon
action man

the duron fills the budget segment of the market for amd. it has less cache lower fsb and lower speeds. a 1.3GHz duron is about equivalent to a 1.7-1.8GHz celeron performance wise and much cheaper.
the duron is a fantastic cpu for thr price.. it isnt a "celeron type" at all. it shares the same basic architecture as the axp which means it has pretty good performance.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 11/04/2003 07:32 PM

Author Icon
MadMarky

QUOTE (action man @ Nov 4 2003, 01:25 PM)the duron fills the budget segment of the market for amd. it has less cache lower fsb and lower speeds. a 1.3GHz duron is about equivalent to a 1.7-1.8GHz celeron performance wise and much cheaper.
the duron is a fantastic cpu for thr price.. it isnt a "celeron type" at all. it shares the same basic architecture as the axp which means it has pretty good performance.
And so does the Celeron with the P4.

I think Celerons and Durons are quite comparable: