AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD K6 2 500 recognized as AMD 166 in XP
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/22/2003 06:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/22/2003 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
noworks1
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/22/2003

I recenty upgraded to XP on a AMD K6 2 500 system. XP recognizes the processor as a AMD 166 processor. The BIOS does report a AMD 500 processor, but XP does not. I cannot install my DSL modem because the software sees a AMD 166 which does not meet the minimum sys requirements to install. Anyone have a similar problem? Does anyone have a solution? any help would be appreciated. Thank You. Joe.
 10/23/2003 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

download cpu-z and see what that reads as your cpu

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 10/23/2003 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cprossu
Member

Posts: 136
Joined: 10/22/2003

dont forget to set your jumpers =)

-------------------------

-Folding@Home with 28 comps (20 are AMD) for Team FM
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information