AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: K6 upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2003 03:53 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2003 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimbo
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/28/2003

Hi, I need help to upgrade my CPU from a K6 300 3D to as fast I can. This is a temporary measure until I can afford a new mobo and CPU.
Cheers.

-------------------------
elevtheria h thanatos
 10/28/2003 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Whitedragons
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/28/2003

Whats your motherboard and socket type?

Need more info pls.
 11/02/2003 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimbo
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/28/2003

Hi Whitedragons, thanks for your prompt reply and apologies for my late return. I have had some problems. However, my board is a Jetway J-542B(S) and the socket is a Super7. Thanks

-------------------------
elevtheria h thanatos
 11/02/2003 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (jimbo @ Nov 2 2003, 09:02 PM) Hi Whitedragons, thanks for your prompt reply and apologies for my late return. I have had some problems. However, my board is a Jetway J-542B(S) and the socket is a Super7. Thanks
Step 1: Go to the Jetway homepage' ">http://www.jetway.com.tw
Step 2: Look around for your motherboard' ">http://www.jetway.com.tw/evisn...duct/socket7/index.htm (542C?}
Step 3: You'll see that your motherboard supports AMD K6-III processors.

Conclusion: Flash the latest bios and see if you can find an old AMD K6-III 450Mhz somewhere.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/04/2003 12:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Andrax
Member

Posts: 63
Joined: 10/22/2003

Man, if you can save up a hundred and fifty bucks and you could get a 2600 XP + and a nice ASUS board to go with it.

-------------------------
Webmaster/Admin
Andrax.Net' ">http://www.andrax.net Electronic Entertainment Community' ">http://forums.andrax.net
 11/04/2003 02:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

still, a K6-III is a very nice CPU(albeit outdated)...if you can get one from EBay for a few bucks, i'd go for it

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 11/04/2003 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SpeedTek
Senior Member

Posts: 2538
Joined: 10/05/2003

Personally, I wouldn't recommend an upgrade in this instance. The fastest he can possibly go is a 550 K6-III, but he really isn't going to see any performance gains for the money and it would probably end up costing a good chunk of a new AXP barton core. I would save my money and do a full upgrade when funds allow. You'll get there faster if you don't waste your time doing obsolete upgrades.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD or any of their affiliates.<br><span *****

Moderator
 11/04/2003 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

AFAIK there arent any K6-3 550. and not many 500 were made either.. but going from an original K6 300 to a K6-3 450 will give a pretty good performance boost.

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 11/04/2003 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimbo
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/28/2003

Thanks for the input guys. I am still tempted to go for a short term upgrade. As I am not a gamer I don't need lots of processing power, I just need something to cope a little better with XP and broadband. My problem is that I can't decide the best route for my long term upgrade. Reading through some of your specs. I'm drooling, however the price difference between the States and the UK is considerable. I want to get it right so I will take my time and keep my eye your conversations.
Thanks again
Jimbo

-------------------------
elevtheria h thanatos
 11/04/2003 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SpeedTek
Senior Member

Posts: 2538
Joined: 10/05/2003

QUOTE (action man @ Nov 4 2003, 10:15 AM) AFAIK there arent any K6-3 550. and not many 500 were made either.. but going from an original K6 300 to a K6-3 450 will give a pretty good performance boost.
Sorry, one too many "I"'s. K6-II 550.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD or any of their affiliates.<br><span *****

Moderator
 11/04/2003 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (jimbo @ Nov 4 2003, 09:06 PM)Thanks for the input guys. I am still tempted to go for a short term upgrade. As I am not a gamer I don't need lots of processing power, I just need something to cope a little better with XP and broadband. My problem is that I can't decide the best route for my long term upgrade. Reading through some of your specs. I'm drooling,  however the price difference between the States and the UK is considerable. I want to get it right so I will take my time and keep my eye your conversations.
Thanks again
Jimbo
Your actually running XP on that machine?
I'm surprised that it even boots...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/04/2003 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SpeedTek
Senior Member

Posts: 2538
Joined: 10/05/2003

It's actually not as fussy as most people believe. I've had XP running on a PII 400 with 64Mb ram and it worked fine. It does turn off all the eye-candy, though.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD or any of their affiliates.<br><span *****

Moderator
 11/05/2003 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Jimbo

I have a k6II-500 and 64MB of EDO ram on a shelf, its yours if you pay for the shipping.

Cheers

MD

PS what part of the UK are you in?
Dads from London and mum's from Stoke

I am living with the Yanks in Washington

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 11/08/2003 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimbo
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/28/2003

Hi MD, Sounds like the best offer I've had for a while. I don't know what the shipping costs are but I will look into it. With reference to the earlier query about XP It actually runs very well if I don't do too many things at once. It copes with my Greek music anyway! In answer to your where? question, I am in the Midlands in a town called Kidderminster, the home of British carpet manufacture.
BFN Jimbo

-------------------------
elevtheria h thanatos
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information