AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1.4Ghz Athlon Thunderbird
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/08/2005 09:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/08/2005 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gianni
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/08/2005

Hi to all,

Where can I get a new 1.4Ghz Athlon Thunderbird CPU?
Thankz
Gianni
 09/12/2005 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aetius
Senior Member

Posts: 218
Joined: 07/19/2005

QUOTE(Gianni @ Sep 8 2005, 07:47 AM)Hi to all,

Where can I get  a new 1.4Ghz Athlon Thunderbird CPU?
Thankz
Gianni
[right][snapback]498002[/snapback][/right]



Hmm... I don't think you can get these new anymore. You might want to check ebay for a good used one. I was thinking of selling one of mine (I have 2 TB-1400C-266) but I am using one in a older Win 98SE gaming rig and the other I am setting up for my little niece's Barbie doll game. /rolleyes.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='rolleyes.gif' />

-------------------------
Main system,
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego 1mb L2, ASUS A8v, 2.0gb Corsair Twin-X, PNY 6800GS(T) 256mb 16/6,WD 250gb 7200/8, Sony DRU-710a,LG DVD-16x, Windows XP Pro SP2, Enermax Noisetaker 420w, DSL

Video editing system
XP 2800+ Barton , ASROCK K7VT4A+, 1.0gb Corsair XMS Cas 2, MSI FX 5900xt 128mb, Samsung 80gb 7200/2, Sony DRU-810a DVDR/RW-DL & MSi DVD 16, Audigy Platinum, Windows XP Pro SP2, Antec 300w, DSL-Lan hookup.
 09/12/2005 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

The 1.4GHz chip can be expensive because it is rare. A slightly slower Thunderibird, or Athlon XP, are much cheaper. Is this for a specific motherboard?
 09/13/2005 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gianni
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/08/2005

QUOTE(eddaweaver @ Sep 12 2005, 11:22 PM)The 1.4GHz chip can be expensive because it is rare. A slightly slower Thunderibird, or Athlon XP, are much cheaper. Is this for a specific motherboard?
[right][snapback]501135[/snapback][/right]



Agree bro!BUt What am I going to do with my current ASUS AV133 board?
Please advise.Thanks!
 09/13/2005 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

Does it currently have a CPU in it? If not, you can easily find a cheap 1.0 to 1.2GHz Thunderbird that'd run on it just fine.

If your board is a recent enough revision (will be printed on the motherboard in white lettering), you can run an Athlon XP on it if you update the bios:
http://www.a7vtroubleshooting.com/info/cpu/index.htm' ">http://www.a7vtroubleshooting.com/info/cpu/index.htm
 09/14/2005 01:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aetius
Senior Member

Posts: 218
Joined: 07/19/2005

QUOTE(Gianni @ Sep 13 2005, 09:11 AM)Agree bro!BUt What am I going to do with my current ASUS AV133 board?
Please advise.Thanks!
[right][snapback]501909[/snapback][/right]


You should be able to run your 1200/266 cpu in an ASUS 133 board. My first TB-1400/266 came in an ASUS A7v-133-C mainboard with good old PC-133 SDRAM.
I ran that for over two years before I picked up my ASROCK KT400A board.

-------------------------
Main system,
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego 1mb L2, ASUS A8v, 2.0gb Corsair Twin-X, PNY 6800GS(T) 256mb 16/6,WD 250gb 7200/8, Sony DRU-710a,LG DVD-16x, Windows XP Pro SP2, Enermax Noisetaker 420w, DSL

Video editing system
XP 2800+ Barton , ASROCK K7VT4A+, 1.0gb Corsair XMS Cas 2, MSI FX 5900xt 128mb, Samsung 80gb 7200/2, Sony DRU-810a DVDR/RW-DL & MSi DVD 16, Audigy Platinum, Windows XP Pro SP2, Antec 300w, DSL-Lan hookup.
 09/14/2005 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

you could also overclock the cpu up to 1.4Ghz if you have good enough cooling.
in case you dont know what overclocking is, it is the act of extending your cpus clock speed beyond the factory set speeds, almost ALL cpus can get some overclock, but take it to far and it wont be reliable (stable).
for example, my 1.8Ghz athlon XP can do 2.7Ghz but isnt stable until i bring it down to 2.5Ghz.
it realy depends on what you will use it for.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 10/06/2005 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aetius
Senior Member

Posts: 218
Joined: 07/19/2005

QUOTE(Charlie22911 @ Sep 14 2005, 04:36 PM)you could also overclock the cpu up to 1.4Ghz if you have good enough cooling.
in case you dont know what overclocking is, it is the act of extending your cpus clock speed beyond the factory set speeds, almost ALL cpus can get some overclock, but take it to far and it wont be reliable (stable).
for example, my 1.8Ghz athlon XP can do 2.7Ghz but isnt stable until i bring it down to 2.5Ghz.
it realy depends on what you will use it for.
[right][snapback]502986[/snapback][/right]



True, true I think the slower TB (1000-1200) can OC better than the 1333 1400's could. (I even read the 1.0ghz TB can clock up to 1500mhz)

I got my Athlon-C TB 1400/266 only up 1.56ghz before it would BSD on my old ASUS A7V-133C MB .

-------------------------
Main system,
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego 1mb L2, ASUS A8v, 2.0gb Corsair Twin-X, PNY 6800GS(T) 256mb 16/6,WD 250gb 7200/8, Sony DRU-710a,LG DVD-16x, Windows XP Pro SP2, Enermax Noisetaker 420w, DSL

Video editing system
XP 2800+ Barton , ASROCK K7VT4A+, 1.0gb Corsair XMS Cas 2, MSI FX 5900xt 128mb, Samsung 80gb 7200/2, Sony DRU-810a DVDR/RW-DL & MSi DVD 16, Audigy Platinum, Windows XP Pro SP2, Antec 300w, DSL-Lan hookup.
 10/07/2005 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

QUOTE(aetius @ Oct 6 2005, 04:37 AM)True, true I think the slower TB (1000-1200) can OC better than the 1333 1400's could. (I even read the 1.0ghz TB can clock up to 1500mhz)

I got my Athlon-C TB 1400/266 only up 1.56ghz before it would BSD on my old ASUS A7V-133C MB .
[right][snapback]517477[/snapback][/right]


interesting since my TB 1Ghz wont clock past 1.3Ghz or 220FSB (440DDR) even if i crank it on up to 2v /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 10/08/2005 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

the two best sites i kno of to look for older parts is pcprogress.com and starmicro.net . you may b able to find a thunderbird there.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 10/09/2005 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

Often retailers sell old stock at their new price, so buyer beware; it can be better to obtain from second-hand sources.
 10/09/2005 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scott R
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/31/2005

QUOTE(Gianni @ Sep 8 2005, 09:47 AM)Hi to all,

Where can I get  a new 1.4Ghz Athlon Thunderbird CPU?
Thankz
Gianni
[right][snapback]498002[/snapback][/right]


Hi Gianni - I upgraded my AMD 750 MHZ Spitfire CPU to an AMD Athlon 1.4 GHZ Thunderbird this past month in my 2001 Compaq 5000US sucessfully. As others have said, it's not so much price as availability. eBay is a good source for old Thunderbird Processors - I bought a 1.3 GHZ Thunderbird in Sept for my Wife's machine for $49 and shipping there. I got the 1.4 ghz Thunderbird for $53 and $7 shipping from Geeks.com. They have things like that periodically.They only had 6 of them and they sold them in a period of 5 days. 1.2 GHZ and 1.3 GHZ are more common on eBay. Make sure you have an AMD Athlon rated heatsink and fan. Your current heatsink and fan are probably not adequate. The one other thing you want to make sure of when purchasing a new used Thunderbird Athlon CPU is your bus speed - is it 100 MHZ or 133 MHZ. If it's 100 MHZ and your board doesn't have a jumper and BIOS setting that can be changed to 133 MHZ, you're going to want to buy a Thunderbird processor that ends in the letter B (ex. A1300AMS3B - that's the model number for the 1.3 ghz Thunderbird desktop cpu). If your board is a 133 MHZ Bus or can be changed to a 133 MHZ bus, then you can use a Thunderbird CPU with the letter C. I made the mistake initially of buying a 1.2 GHZ AMD Thunderbird that was a C for the 133MHZ bus boards, but Compaq used it's own crippleware BIOS that didn't allow me to use the C at full speed (the 1.2GHZ CPU ran at 75% of rated speed - 901 MHZ) Check your BIOS to see which version , B or C, you can make use of. I hope all this helps!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information