AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Trouble Shooting
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/13/2005 06:27 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2005 06:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Midnight Modem
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/13/2005

My CPU cooler died and then my Athlon, 1.3 GHz (A1333AMS3C) Processor died. Now when I power it up it will not POST, for obvious reasons, but the light on my CD ROM comes on and stays on and I also cannot soft power down the PC. You may think that this is normal with a bad CPU but here is the twist. When I pull out the CPU, the CD-ROM light stays on and it will not soft power down. Its like when the CPU died it left the chipset (or something) in a state that is not reset when power is removed. I would hate to replace the CPU only to find that I have to replace the motherboard also. Any suggestions or thoughts? Thanks for any help.
 09/14/2005 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

is there any discoloration on the CPU? have you tried it in another MB and does the CPU socket have any discoloration?

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 09/14/2005 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Midnight Modem
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/13/2005

QUOTE(Charlie22911 @ Sep 14 2005, 05:41 PM)is there any discoloration on the CPU? have you tried it in another MB and does the CPU socket have any discoloration?
[right][snapback]502989[/snapback][/right]


No, there is no sign of over heating on the mobo but the cpu is dark brown on the botton and a little on top. I don't have a way to test it in another MB. Thanks for your reply.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information