AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows 95
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/22/2005 07:32 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/22/2005 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lanceellington
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/22/2005

Hello,

I am trying to build a windows 95 box. /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' /> I have a legacy 'autocad 11' app that needs to run on win95. I was wondering what processor should I use in my box. I know that some of the new processor have a difficult time with win95. Or should I try to run win95 on a new Pentium 4 XP box with a os emulator like vmware? Thanks for the help.
 10/22/2005 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

look on ebay or somthing for an old computer with a K6or P2

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/24/2005 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

Virtually any application that runs on Windows 95 is going to run on Windows 98 too.
 10/25/2005 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

but if you're going to use an AMD processor faster than 350mhz with win95, you have to first download a patch, I forget if it was a windows patch, a DOS patch, or an AMD patch....Pentiums don't have this problem, btw

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 10/25/2005 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

It's a Microsoft patch, and was caused by a design flaw in Windows.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information