AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Socket A versus Socket 754
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/30/2005 07:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/30/2005 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leo1020
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/23/2003

I purchased a new motherboard and the Micro Center told me that a Athlon 3000 xp will work in a Socket 754, is this true and is there any changes I need to make?

Thanks
 10/30/2005 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(leo1020 @ Oct 30 2005, 06:02 PM)I purchased a new motherboard and the Micro Center told me that a Athlon 3000 xp will work in a Socket 754, is this true and is there any changes I need to make?

Thanks
[right][snapback]534473[/snapback][/right]



Thats not true. The Socket A and 754 are 2 different pin configurations and they are not compatible with each other. If you have a XP 3000 and got a 754 board then take it back and get a Socket (462) A board. Try www.newegg.com for good Socket A boards. They have most of them reviewed too.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 10/30/2005 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Oct 30 2005, 06:30 PM)Thats not true.  The Socket A and 754 are 2 different pin configurations and they are not compatible with each other.  If you have a XP 3000 and got a 754 board then take it back and get a Socket (462) A board.  Try www.newegg.com for good Socket A boards.  They have most of them reviewed too.
[right][snapback]534490[/snapback][/right]


Micro Center, sadly, has probably already forgotten about the axp's and thought u were talking about a socket 754 axp 64. At least I hope they don't really think sockets are interchangeable.

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
 11/04/2005 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Oct 30 2005, 03:30 PM) If you have a XP 3000 and got a 754 board then take it back and get a Socket (462) A board.  Try www.newegg.com for good Socket A boards.  They have most of them reviewed too.
[right][snapback]534490[/snapback][/right]


actually, id go for a 754 CPU, instead of getting a socket a motherboard...much better performance, nto to mention an AXP 3000+ could probably pull in soem nice money if you could find a buyer /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 11/11/2005 03:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

No Kidding, I am thinking about putting my mobile XP 2600 on ebay, I see these things going for well over 80 bucks, and if I include the Nfoce 2 board taht im getting in a few days, I bet i can score plenty of cash.

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 11/24/2005 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

There's a big CPU comparison test here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20051121/index.html' ">http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20051121/index.html

Interesting to see the S754 Sempron's turning in such a good performance compared to the top-end of Socket A; that onboard memory controller is really pulling in the frames.

Once again AMD has a low-cost processor able to run with the pack without even breaking a sweat /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' /> Get one of these and a decent Geforce card i.e. 6600GT and you're quid's in.

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information