AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1400 duron
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2005 07:54 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2005 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Something looks wrong, can't quite figure it out



Name AMD Duron
Code Name Applebred
Specification AMD Duron™ processor
Family / Model / Stepping 6 8 1
Extended Family / Model 7 8
Package Socket A
Core Stepping B0
Technology 0.13 µ
Supported Instructions Sets MMX, Extended MMX, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!, SSE
CPU Clock Speed 2143.8 MHz
Clock multiplier x 10.5
Front Side Bus Frequency 204.2 MHz
Bus Speed 408.4 MHz
L1 Data Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Instruction Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Cache 64 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 2143.8 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
L2 Bus Width 64 bits



Mainboard and chipset
Motherboard manufacturer http://www.abit.com.tw/' ">http://www.abit.com.tw/
Motherboard model NF7II series(Nvidia nForce-MCP2S), v0.1
BIOS vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD
BIOS revision 6.00 PG
BIOS release date 11/26/2004
Chipset nVidia nForce2 Ultra 400 rev. C1
Southbridge nVidia ID80 rev. A3
Sensor chip Winbond W83627HF



-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 01/18/2005 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robin_p
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/28/2004

The Front side Bus looks VERY high for a Duron but I might be wrong. Don't only the athlon XP 2700+ 3000+ and up, run at a 200/400 FSB?!
 01/18/2005 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

It is not the first time that I see a Duron Applebread at 200 MHz FSB at 2.1 GHz. Basically, most Thoroughbreds, Bartons and deriveds of them (Applebread and Thorton respectively) should reach 200 MHz FSB with no troubles at all if your Motherboard and Memory Modules can run at that Frecuency and your Processor is not going over 2.2 GHz, the Frecuency at what most Desktops 130nm K7s reach easy with reasonable Voltage. If this isn't true, I shouldn't talk anymore about overclocking
 01/18/2005 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

Looks like the user has just upped the FSB speed and voltage:

133 x 10.5 = 1400MHz @ 1.50v

204 x 10.5 = 2142MHz @ 1.71v

The Applebred Duron is more than capable of hitting high speeds, and depending on what stepping you have you may even be able to go higher - the CPU may also be 'unlocked' Note the orange colour and not red!

Also popular is the L2 cache trick where you may be able to get back the missing cache. You simply use some conductive paint, ideally with some filler material to fill in the cut bridge prior to application. Tricky..but not too tricky (see link on sig).

One of the best overclocking chips out there!!!

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 01/18/2005 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

No Wildcard, Not that lucky on this one. 0350 locker. I'm sure I can get it over 204 fsb, with a little more vcore and some northbridge voltage. Want the AS5 to work in good first.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 01/20/2005 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Athlonuser
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 10/10/2004

That is a bunch of BS! how could a 1400 go to 2100!?! Is your computer on gram! lol! There must be something wrong with your processor or mainboard. Durons are not very good CPUs especially the ones under 1600. But I like the Applebred Duron 1600 and 1800 because those are really good overclockers. I do not get how a 1400 could go to 2100

-------------------------
Desktop: AMD Opteron 170 2.7ghz OC, 440gb HDD space (3 HDDs in RAID-0), 4GB RAM, Hec X Power Pro 600W PSU, Gigabyte GTX 260 OC, two dvd burners, HT Omega Striker 7.1 sound card

Laptop: Dell Inspiron 15 N5040, Core i3 380M, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD
 01/20/2005 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

Because the Duron 1400 MHz, 1600 MHz and 1800 MHz are based on the same Core: Applebread. Applebread is a Thoroughbred (CPUID 6-8-1, most knowed as "Thoroughbred B") with 192 KB Cache Lv 2 disabled, so only 64 KB Cache Lv 2 remains.
 01/20/2005 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

Athlonuser,

The 1400 'Applebred' can hit those high notes.

What's the definition of a 'good CPU'? The Duron isn't designed to keep up with the Athlon..AMD would be kicking themselves in the pants if that were the case.

http://www.madshrimps.be/?acti...ticl...cle&articID=106' ">http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=106

If the Duron were really 'not very good', then the competition must surely be dire - reviews would reflect this. The general consensus is that it's a good processor; naturally in specific circumstances you'll see it struggle but then again that isn't reflective of any overall deficiency. It's the way budget processors work although the race to the top is creating some interesting "low-end" stuff from the Sempron.

The original 100 FSB Duron's upto 1.3GHz, are not in the same class as the 1.4, 1.6 & 1.8GHz models not only because of the bus hike. In terms of overclocking the Duron 1400 can hit 2.1GHz or more (not all of them naturally ), with better cooling and higher core voltage. There's a wall around 2.2GHz but it can be climbed over.

http://www.overclockers.com.au...arch...ch.php?type=cpu' ">http://www.overclockers.com.au/pcdb/search.php?type=cpu

As as zir_blazer said, it is really an Athlon XP minus a chunk of cache that some folks are able to reclaim.

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information