AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Compaq Presario 1625 CPU upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/28/2005 12:42 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/31/2005 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

This is the only cache I see in Everest:

CPU Cache:
L1 Code Cache 32 KB
L1 Data Cache 32 KB
L2 Cache 0

Is the "P" series the 2.4 volt K6III chips? I will put some thermal grease on top of the new cpu when I put it in there as well to help dissipate the heat.
 01/31/2005 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Again...look under Motherboard Chipset section, not Motherboard CPU.

The Mobile design P-series runs at either 2.0V or 2.2V VCore, depending on the speed of the part. They held the current at 8.5A to do this, while raising Vcore to get more speed. All are rated at 80'C (denoted by K).

Thermal grease is always a good idea. Remember, the idea is to fill the microscopic gaps, not to "fill the gap".

K6 Documentation -> http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...oduc...00^1102,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...1260_1300^1102,00.html

K6 Mobile Documentation -> http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...oduc...02^1117,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...1300^1102^1117,00.html

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 01/31/2005 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

The motherboard chipset section just says "Unknown" in Everest. So I guess there is no way to find out what the motherboard cache is I guess.

Do you think a K6 III 380 would run at 396MHz? It's 2.2V which is better than the K6III 400MHz which runs at 2.4V. The K6III+ chips and K6II+ chips really seem to go for alot more than the regular K6III chips on ebay. At least the K6III 380 chip runs at 2.2V , has the 6x multiplier option 64k of L1 cache and 256k of L2 cache on the chip. So it seems like a good option but the big question is if it will run at the 6x66=396 speed and be okay.

 02/01/2005 06:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

There is/was a bug in the external cache routine in Everest...perhaps it extends to your chipset as well. What chipset does it say is installed?

Any time you overclock it is always a cr*apshoot.

AGAIN...I'm leading you to the + series because they will put the least strain on your VCore regulator (since we have NO CLUE about how much power it can provide). This means if you get any other CPU, it might pull TOO MUCH CURRENT AND FRY IT...that means NO MORE PC!!!

GOT IT NOW???

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 02/01/2005 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

Okay, Okay, I'll get a + series chip. There is a guy on ebay selling the K6III+ 550 MHz 1.6V chip and says it will run fine at 2.1V. Does this guy sound like he may be correct.? Going from 1.6V to 2.1V seems like an awfully big jump. K6 III 550MHz 1.6V ' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...sPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT

I currently can't lookup the motherboard chipset but I am almost positive it said unknown for it though.
 02/01/2005 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Just to show you and example of what can happen -> http://www.stud.fernuni-hagen....142-...um=3&topic=3359' ">http://www.stud.fernuni-hagen....cgi?forum=3&topic=3359

K6-IIIE+ (Embedded Processor) -> http://www.amd.com/epd/process...bitp...iiie/index.html' ">http://www.amd.com/epd/process...9.amdk6iiie/index.html
Datasheet -> http://www.amd.com/epd/process...bitp...3543/23543a.pdf' ">http://www.amd.com/epd/process...6iiie/23543/23543a.pdf

A = 321-pin CGA
T = 1.5V-1.7V VCore
Z = 0-85'C

The spec says the 550 comes in 2.0V, and it will draw 10.30A on VCore (8.70A @400MHz). A 1.6V 400 draws 6.15A, and the Absolute Maximum Voltage is 2.2V.

Try to get a CPU that you can set a voltage for...stay away from running it at its Absolute Maximum, as this is a recipe for trouble down the road.

From the datasheet -

"15.2 - Absolute Ratings

The AMD-K6-IIIE+ processor is not designed to be operated beyond the operating ranges listed in Table 55 and Table 56. Exposure to conditions outside these operating ranges for extended periods of time can affect long-term reliability. Permanent damage can occur if the absolute ratings listed in Table 57 are exceeded."


-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 02/01/2005 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

I agree with you, according to those sheets the K6III+ 1.6 volt processor should not be run at 2.1 volts. The guy in the ebay auction is not advertising properly in my opinion. I'll keep searching for a K6 + series for 2.0 volts and run it at 2.1 volts. I don't want my mother board to start smoking because the Voltage Regulator couldn't handle the voltage like that guy you posted a link to.
 02/02/2005 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

"I don't want my motherboard to start smoking because the Voltage Regulator couldn't handle the CURRENT like that guy you posted a link to."

Voltage and current are two different animals. It seems he had the VCore voltage set properly, but the regulator just couldn't handle the current requirements at that voltage. Multiply them together and you get power (Watts).

Examples -

1.6V x 6.15A = 9.84W
2.0V x 8.70A = 17.40W

Get your CPU here ->
http://www.jlmtech.net/catalog/index.php' ">http://www.jlmtech.net/catalog/index.php
http://www.softwareandstuff.com/h_comp_amdk63plus.html' ">http://www.softwareandstuff.com/h_comp_amdk63plus.html
http://www.upgradeability.com/K6plus/index.htm' ">http://www.upgradeability.com/K6plus/index.htm

The guy is advertising correctly, but yet he isn't. It depends on the part you actually get from him. He is also giving information about overclocking, in which you *may* need to increase the VCore voltage to get to the speed you want. This will of course change the current draw, and the power (Watts) consumed.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 02/03/2005 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

ive burnt voltage regulators on my old socket7 board. i had a K6-2 500 cpu i ran at 600Mhz at 3.0v from 2.2v stock. it worked long enough for me to get a screen shot, but thats all. the K6-III+ 450 will hit 600Mhz easy and put out less heat than a K6-2 500 at stock. the K6-III is made on a .25u process while the K6-III+ is made on the .18u process. this means less heat and less voltage to power it, this is just to backup what kachiwachi was telling you.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 02/06/2005 12:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

Thanks for the info. I am currently looking for a good deal on a K6 II+ or III+ right now and run it at 2.1volts.
 02/14/2005 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gregdep
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/14/2005

I also have the 1625. I tried doing a processor upgrade a couple years ago but could not get over 300 mHz (4.5 multilpier)
It may be because i wasn't using a newer CXT core based processor.

Looks like i may give it another go now that I FINALLY found someone with the same laptop trying to do the same thing.

Keep us updated with progress.
 02/15/2005 12:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gregdep
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/14/2005

woohoo! you guys are awesome!
I have a compaq 1625 as well (as stated b4) and for a couple years I had it @ 300mHZ from 266 cuz i could never figure out how to get it any faster. I have a couple k6 cpu's laying around... a 400 mhz k6-III and a 500mhz k6-II.... and when i saw this post i figured it's a good time to try it again with this extra knowledge floating around here.

I used the 2x multiplier and even though it shows 300mhz when the laptop POSTs it show at 66x6=400 in Everest!!

I decided to keep the k6-3 in there because of the added on-board cache and it seems to be working just fine @ 2.1 volts. But is there any good way to test and make sure it is stable at 2.1 volts instead of the 2.4 that shows on the cpu itself? any little nifty programs out there?

Thanks again all!
 02/15/2005 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Thanks for the additional input gregdep!

The 300MHz POST you see is probably the highest the BIOS can read in it;s CPU tables, and is just cosmetic, as shown by Everest.

If you use the latest Everest Beta, you should be able to dump the CPU MSR's and see just how the CPU is configured. You might be able to get more performance out of it if you can configure it "properly"! You can post your MSR data here if you like.

You can use Memtest86 or Memtest86+ to test the entire CPU and memory subsystem for stability, though the program is intended for just memory testing.

It looks like 2.4V might be available on your board, since there is a setting for 2.45V. But since it is undocumented, you'd have to try the switch postions and measure what your VCore actually is. 2.1V seems a bit low (2.3V is the recommended minimum).

Good choice on leaving the K6-III installed to take advantage of the tri-level cache feature. Can you verify that your VCore regulators aren't getting too hot?

K6-III 400 AHX
2.4V/3.3V
12.4A/0.62A

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 02/15/2005 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

Greg, let me know how the 2.4volt processor runs at 2.1volts or 2.2 volts. If you have good luck with the the K6 III chip I may just get one of those instead of the K6 III+ chip. I am thinking about maybe going with the K6 III 380MHz 2.2 volt chip and running it at 400MHz and 2.1 volts. Which should be better than running a 2.4 volt K6III chip at 2.2. or 2.1 volts.

Jeffers
 02/15/2005 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gregdep
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/14/2005

MSR? what is that?

I will run the memtest app here shortly and let you know how that goes.
 02/15/2005 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

MSR = Model Specific Registers

A dump of these will show how the CPU is configured. You can set the registers to enable features in the CPU, and provide more performance.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 02/15/2005 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gregdep
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/14/2005

Where in Everest can you dump this information? under CPUID?

Is this what you are looking for?

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.00.267 Beta
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/' ">http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer COMPAQ-LAPTOP
Generator gdepotter
Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional 5.0.2195 (Win2000 Retail)
Date 2005-02-15
Time 22:05


--------[ CPUID ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPUID Properties:
CPUID Manufacturer AuthenticAMD
CPUID CPU Name AMD-K6™ 3D+ Processor
CPUID Revision 00000591h
Extended CPUID Revision 00000691h
Platform ID C8h (Socket 7)
IA CPU Serial Number Unknown
HTT / CMP Units 0 / 0

Instruction Set:
64-bit x86 Extension (AMD64, EM64T) Not Supported
Alternate Instruction Set Not Supported
AMD 3DNow! Supported
AMD 3DNow! Professional Not Supported
AMD Enhanced 3DNow! Not Supported
AMD Extended MMX Not Supported
Cyrix Extended MMX Not Supported
IA-64 Not Supported
IA MMX Supported
IA SSE Not Supported
IA SSE 2 Not Supported
IA SSE 3 Not Supported
CLFLUSH Instruction Not Supported
CMPXCHG8B Instruction Supported
CMPXCHG16B Instruction Not Supported
Conditional Move Instruction Not Supported
FEMMS Instruction Not Supported
MONITOR / MWAIT Instruction Not Supported
SYSCALL / SYSRET Instruction Supported
SYSENTER / SYSEXIT Instruction Not Supported

Security Features:
Advanced Cryptography Engine Not Supported
Data Execution Prevention (DEP, NX, EDB) Not Supported
Hardware Random Number Generator Not Supported
Processor Serial Number (PSN) Not Supported

Power Management Features:
Automatic Clock Control Not Supported
Enhanced SpeedStep Technology (EIST, ESS) Not Supported
Frequency ID Control Not Supported
LongHaul Not Supported
LongRun Not Supported
LongRun Table Interface Not Supported
Processor Duty Cycle Control Not Supported
Software Thermal Control Not Supported
Temperature Sensing Diode Not Supported
Thermal Monitor 1 Not Supported
Thermal Monitor 2 Not Supported
Thermal Monitoring Not Supported
Thermal Trip Not Supported
Voltage ID Control Not Supported

CPUID Features:
36-bit Page Size Extension Not Supported
CPL Qualified Debug Store Not Supported
Debug Trace Store Not Supported
Debugging Extension Supported
Fast Save & Restore Not Supported
Hyper-Threading Technology Not Supported
L1 Context ID Not Supported
Local APIC On Chip Not Supported
Machine-Check Architecture Not Supported
Machine-Check Exception Supported
Memory Type Range Registers Not Supported
Model Specific Registers Supported
Page Attribute Table Not Supported
Page Global Extension Supported
Page Size Extension Supported
Pending Break Event Not Supported
Physical Address Extension Not Supported
Self-Snoop Not Supported
Time Stamp Counter Supported
Virtual Machine Extensions Not Supported
Virtual Mode Extension Supported

Problems & Suggestions:
Suggestion SSE is not supported. Upgrade your CPU to speed up applications optimized for SSE.


--------[ Debug - PCI ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

B00 D00 F00: OPTi FireStar+ CPU-PCI Bridge

Offset 00: 45 10 01 C7 07 00 80 02 32 00 00 06 00 00 00 00
Offset 10: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 20: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 30: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 40: 00 00 02 20 71 32 00 84 30 00 00 00 5A 06 00 00
Offset 50: 00 00 00 00 40 C1 00 FC 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 90: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 F8 00 00 80 00 00 00 00

B00 D01 F00: OPTi FireStar+ PCI-ISA PnP Bridge

Offset 00: 45 10 00 C7 07 00 80 02 31 00 01 06 00 00 00 00
Offset 10: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 20: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 30: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 40: 00 00 02 C0 00 00 06 00 30 0A 30 3F 00 00 40 60
Offset 50: 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 60: 00 00 00 00 F1 03 00 20 C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 4A 3E
Offset 90: 00 00 00 29 22 2B 21 00 00 3F 41 24 23 2A 2B 2B
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 49 DC 35 00 00 01 05
Offset B0: 03 04 05 06 17 09 1A 1B A7 00 01 00 01 00 00 00
Offset C0: 10 32 50 76 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 7F 00 00 00 80 0F
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 8F 00 F0 E8 F0 E0 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

B00 D0A F00: Texas Instruments PCI-1131 CardBus Controller

Offset 00: 4C 10 15 AC 07 00 00 02 01 00 07 06 08 00 82 00
Offset 10: 00 F0 FF EF 00 00 00 02 00 01 01 00 00 F0 EF FF
Offset 20: 00 F0 EF FF 00 00 C0 FF 00 F0 DF FF 00 FF 00 00
Offset 30: FC FF 00 00 00 FE 00 00 FC FE 00 00 07 01 C0 00
Offset 40: 11 0E C3 B0 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 20 10 24 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 90: C0 BA 74 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

B00 D0A F01: Texas Instruments PCI-1131 CardBus Controller

Offset 00: 4C 10 15 AC 07 00 00 02 01 00 07 06 08 00 82 00
Offset 10: 00 E0 FF EF 00 00 00 02 00 56 56 00 00 E0 EF FF
Offset 20: 00 E0 EF FF 00 00 A0 FF 00 F0 BF FF 00 FD 00 00
Offset 30: FC FD 00 00 00 FB 00 00 FC FB 00 00 0A 02 C0 00
Offset 40: 11 0E C3 B0 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 20 30 04 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 90: C0 BB 74 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

B00 D12 F00: NeoMagic NM2160 MagicGraph 128XD Video Adapter

Offset 00: C8 10 04 00 03 00 80 02 01 00 00 03 00 80 00 00
Offset 10: 08 00 00 FD 00 00 A0 FE 00 00 D0 FE 00 00 00 00
Offset 20: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 11 0E BD B0
Offset 30: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0B 01 10 FF
Offset 40: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 90: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

B00 D14 F00: OPTi 82C825 FireBridge II PCI-PCMCIA Controller

Offset 00: 45 10 68 D5 05 00 80 02 30 80 01 01 00 00 00 00
Offset 10: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 20: F1 FC 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 11 0E C2 B0
Offset 30: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 40: 20 00 16 00 00 00 10 FA 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 90: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00


--------[ Debug - Video BIOS ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

C000:0000 U.`..2........^2........0.....IBMu..............PCIR............
C000:0040 P.......MagicGraph 128XD 40K SVGA BIOS.Copyright 1994-97 NeoMagi
C000:0080 c Corp. All Rights Reserved..CiGaMoEn.nmx9xTV.def........gU.$...
C000:00C0 ...&0.%......4.....................p........>.?...............
C000:0100 .......!................._...&.&.&..........!./.................
C000:0140 .M...R...".U.l.c.*.h.<...............P......0107..5U4e4s4..VIJAY
C000:0180 MINT MP P.........3X.P......3X.PR..............ZX.PR...........
C000:01C0 ZX.PR...........ZX.PRP....3X......3ZX.PRS..........&.....3......
C000:0200 .u.P.!.......&u...@.X..............[ZX.PR...j3............t.....
C000:0240 .u..!..........@u.2........ZX.P..@.....I..X..ju.."..ru....RP.#..
C000:0280 2..X..ju.."Z..R....Z.. ..L...v.`...A.RQS....../...t(......t.....
C000:02C0 ..2......t.......t.......+...[YZ.PSQRV&.........u.....@.....u.
C000:0300 ...S...&.%G......u.<ht!<lt.....<qu.&.e..<"t.<$t.<&t.......I..<.t
C000:0340 *<.t....k..K2............&.%G.....................2.....2....2..
C000:0380 ...2^ZY[X.PSQRV..-....w.....G.....S..$.F......u.<ht.<lt.....<"t.
C000:03C0 <$t.<&t.......I..<.t0<.t....k...1...........<F.$.F..............


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The names of actual companies and products mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.
 02/16/2005 06:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

To get the dump, right-click on the bottom "status" bar. You will see various "dumps". Choose "CPU Debug", and perform the dump. Post your results here.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 03/03/2005 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jefferskn
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 01/28/2005

Well, I finally got my new CPU. I went with an AMD K6 III 380MHz 2.2volt processor. I ran CPUmark before installing the new chip and got 16 with a K6 266 2.1volt chip. I then ran CPUmark after installing the new chip and setting the dip switches to 2.2volts and 2x multiplier and got "27". I then ran CPUmark after configuring Central Tweaking Utility program and got "38". I would say that's a pretty good increase for $19. Also, it now plays dvds on the 8x dvd rom I installed in it. With the K6 266 CPU it would NOT play dvds.
 03/03/2005 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Could you post your Everest CPU Dump so that I can see how the CPU is configured?

I would have used WAMonitor v.57 personally, but CTU v.82 will work just fine as well.

K6-2-380 AFR
2.2V/3.3V
10.7A/0.61A
70°C

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information