AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AXDA2500KV4D ? Athlon or Duron?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/30/2006 08:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/30/2006 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dvr
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/30/2006

Hi, I bought 3 so called Athlon XP 2500+s on ebay, the all are the same part number AXDA2500KV4D, but one is a browny-orange colour and the other two are green.
Now shouldn't all the same part numbers be the same colours ?
And one of them says AthlonXP on the little black label but only shows up as a Duron.

How can I identify if they're really what they say they are?
 10/30/2006 09:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: DVR
Hi, I bought 3 so called Athlon XP 2500+s on ebay, the all are the same part number AXDA2500KV4D, but one is a browny-orange colour and the other two are green.
Now shouldn't all the same part numbers be the same colours ?
And one of them says AthlonXP on the little black label but only shows up as a Duron.

How can I identify if they're really what they say they are?


I don't think the color identifies anything, they probably just used whatever color the packaging plant has in stock.

If the chip is installed and running you could run one of the AMD utils, AMD CPUID or AMD CPUInfo , there is also CPU-Z.

The bios may also have an effect on these utilities, so you first have to make sure the bios supports the chips fully, but if it's just one out of 3 that says Duron then maybe it's a re-marked CPU or has been modified, look at the bridges on the face of the CPU to see if someone cut/joined the bridges.

btw, If you need specs for the OPN FAB51 is a pretty good.
 10/30/2006 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jack1314
Senior Member

Posts: 487
Joined: 10/05/2004

What motherboard are you using and is your FSB set to 333mhz

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3000+
2 x 512mb pc2700
Nvidia Geforce4 440 GO 64mb
NEC DVD +/- RW ND-6450A
Windows xp pro
 10/30/2006 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dvr
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/30/2006

i've just tryed CPU-Z and that also identifies it as a Duron
And the mobo is a brand new foxconn but i also tested it in my older soltek. it doesn't look like the bridges have been cut or joined but the black label says Athlon and the mobo says Duron so i'm guessing it's remarked.
I just wondered if the different colour packaging was related to the model and/or the core or if it's entirely random?
 10/30/2006 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dvr
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/30/2006

after looking on fab51.com it would seem that they definitally are remarked
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information