AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: K6-2 vs K6
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/12/2006 07:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/12/2006 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zero_hour
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/24/2006

I'm working on an old computer for my sister, it has an i430TX chipset with a K6 300 on board, now I also have a K6-2 300 sitting in an old dead board from awhile back and want to know if the K6-2 offeres better improvement, I have a K6-2 500 also but with the FSB faster than 75 the system lockups so i can't use the K6-2 500 as it needs the 100mhz FSB.

-------------------------
Sempron 2800 AM2, ECS C51GM-M, 1GB DDR2 667, Saphire x850xt pe, Windows XP x64
Counter Strike Source/Day of Defeat/Battle Front 2
SGT_Candle Half Life Division Ares Squad Assistant
<!--/sizeo-
 08/12/2006 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

Hi there,

Which motherboard (make and model version) and RAM do you have?

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 08/13/2006 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zero_hour
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/24/2006

mobo is Lite-On and it doesnt actully exist, the ram is 4x32mb of EDO gonna upgrade to 4x64mb EDO

-------------------------
Sempron 2800 AM2, ECS C51GM-M, 1GB DDR2 667, Saphire x850xt pe, Windows XP x64
Counter Strike Source/Day of Defeat/Battle Front 2
SGT_Candle Half Life Division Ares Squad Assistant
<!--/sizeo-
 08/16/2006 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

If the board locks up on anything faster than 66 MHz, the most you can get out of it then with a K6 is 400 MHz (6 x 66 MHz). If the board will take a + series CPU, that would be better than running a plain K6 or K6-2.

You can run your 500 at 6 x 66 MHz and all should be fine...assuming the motherboard can power the thing properly.

i430TX can run both 16 and 64 Mbit Technology chips, 6 rows for 256 MB Maximum RAM (FPM, EDO, or SDRAM).

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 08/16/2006 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tazwegion
Senior Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 02/03/2006

I've found that applying a chipset cooler (active/passive) can assist stability significantly, in my case allowing an Intel chipset motherboard to run a CeleronA @ 500Mhz (6x83fsb) instead if it's regular 6x66fsb, from memory I used a cutdown SS7 heatsink & 40mm fan

BTW definitely go with the K62 series processor 400Mhz or better as these had the CXT core which had integrated 'write combining' effectively a more efficient chip

-------------------------
 08/16/2006 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zero_hour
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/24/2006

finally after searching thought chinesse sites translated to english and figured it out, its a Shuttle HOT-569, I gave it a bios update and have it running at 83x6 with 96mb of PC100, i have acquired a K6-III+ but this board only goes to 2.0Vcore can the K6-III+ run that high, i do have a custom bios that recogizes the K6-2+ and III+. I found this chip for 2 bucks at the local comp shop.

-------------------------
Sempron 2800 AM2, ECS C51GM-M, 1GB DDR2 667, Saphire x850xt pe, Windows XP x64
Counter Strike Source/Day of Defeat/Battle Front 2
SGT_Candle Half Life Division Ares Squad Assistant
<!--/sizeo-
 08/16/2006 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

K6-III+ ACZ Specifications:

VCore - 2.0V (1.9V~2.1V), 2.2V Max.
8.5A Max.
VI/O - 3.3V (3.135V~3.6V), 3.6V Max.
0.68A Max.
Power Dissipation - 12.6W, 16W Max.
Case Temperature - 85° C Max.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 08/16/2006 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zero_hour
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/24/2006

hmm mine says 1.8/3.3
its a 400 K6-III+

-------------------------
Sempron 2800 AM2, ECS C51GM-M, 1GB DDR2 667, Saphire x850xt pe, Windows XP x64
Counter Strike Source/Day of Defeat/Battle Front 2
SGT_Candle Half Life Division Ares Squad Assistant
<!--/sizeo-
 08/16/2006 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

You have one of the "low power" ones then.

It will run at 2.0V, but make sure you have a good cooler.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 08/16/2006 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zero_hour
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/24/2006

Will the stock cooler for an XP3200 work?

-------------------------
Sempron 2800 AM2, ECS C51GM-M, 1GB DDR2 667, Saphire x850xt pe, Windows XP x64
Counter Strike Source/Day of Defeat/Battle Front 2
SGT_Candle Half Life Division Ares Squad Assistant
<!--/sizeo-
 08/18/2006 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

On the VX and TX chipsets, what impact is there with only having the first 64MB cached? How much slower is memoyr access above 64MB?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 08/18/2006 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

That will vary due to the specifics of the machine in question.

You can certainly test this using the various utilities that are around.

Note that once you install a K6 CPU that has a built-in L2 cache, all of your RAM will be cached. Your motherboard cache will then become a third-level cache...still subject to the 64 MB limitation however.

Some testing on my own machine has shown a slight slowdown (writing only) with the motherboard cache enabled...but not much. See the DFI results posted below.



-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 08/19/2006 03:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tazwegion
Senior Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 02/03/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Zero_hour
Will the stock cooler for an XP3200 work?



If you can get it to fit (allowing for clearance around the CPU socket), I use Palomino & Throroughbred coolers on SS7 & s370 motherboards with great results... yours should be as good or better (with it's copper slug base)


-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information