AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: processor swap
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/07/2006 09:35 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/07/2006 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sdw
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/07/2006

[font=Comic Sans Ms] Wondering if an athlon 1.2 ghz athlon 1400 EX (notebook processor), socket 462, with 200 mhz FSB, would work in a desktop pc motherboard with a socket 462. The board will support the 200 mhz FSB, but I don't know if the operating voltages are the same. Thanks
 02/08/2006 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Yes they generally do work, you need to realize though that the processor may boot at it's lowest multiplier, usually 6, and at the lowest bus speed ie 100MHz...

That is usually easy to fix with bios options and software from the desktop environment.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information