AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Ram Info for older computer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/19/2006 03:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/19/2006 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jkrue10
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/19/2006

I was wondering if anyone knew how to find out what kind of ram would be compatible with the gateway amd athlon model no. 1400cs computer. I acquired this computer from a friend who bought a newer computer, but he took the ram card out of the slot. If anyone could help me it would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
 02/20/2006 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tazwegion
Senior Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 02/03/2006

I'm 99% certain it'd be SDRam, but look @ the RAM slots... does it have 1 OR 2 keyways? (keyways prevent ram being installed backwards)

SDR has 2 such keyways
DDR has but only 1

Here's a guide for Memory modules old -> new @ THG

Good luck!

-------------------------
 02/21/2006 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aetius
Senior Member

Posts: 218
Joined: 07/19/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: jkrue
I was wondering if anyone knew how to find out what kind of ram would be compatible with the gateway amd athlon model no. 1400cs computer. I acquired this computer from a friend who bought a newer computer, but he took the ram card out of the slot. If anyone could help me it would be greatly appreciated. thanks.



Well there were 2 Gateway models that I seen (a Looong time ago) One was the 1400CS w/ a Pentium 4 1.4ghz and the other was a 1400CL with the 1.4ghz AMD cpu. The AMD version used PC-133 ram and the Pentium version used PC 800 RDRAM.

The Pentium version came with a TNT2 M64 card and the AMD version came with a Radeon VE card.

The AMD version performed better than the Pentium due to the card (and cpu of course )

But the easiest way to check the ram is as tazwegion stated.


-------------------------
Main system,
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego 1mb L2, ASUS A8v, 2.0gb Corsair Twin-X, PNY 6800GS(T) 256mb 16/6,WD 250gb 7200/8, Sony DRU-710a,LG DVD-16x, Windows XP Pro SP2, Enermax Noisetaker 420w, DSL

Video editing system
XP 2800+ Barton , ASROCK K7VT4A+, 1.0gb Corsair XMS Cas 2, MSI FX 5900xt 128mb, Samsung 80gb 7200/2, Sony DRU-810a DVDR/RW-DL & MSi DVD 16, Audigy Platinum, Windows XP Pro SP2, Antec 300w, DSL-Lan hookup.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information