AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: can Sempron 3400+ be replaced by Athlon 64 3800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/10/2009 11:45 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/10/2009 11:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FantomLord
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/10/2009

I have recently found a dead motherboard with a Athlon 64 3800 processor and I am wondering if I can take out my Sempron 3400 and upgrade it to the Athlon 64 will the pins fit? is it worth giving it a shot?
thanks for any advice
 05/11/2009 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

What motherboard models are they? With that info you will find what socket type the CPUs are.
Can be e.g socket 754, 939 and AM2. if they are same, most likely the processor will work in the other
motherboard.

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information