AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon K7 upgrade from 600 to 900Mhz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/05/2004 06:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/05/2004 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adparker
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/04/2004

Hi, hope someone can help me but i've just changed the processor on my pc and although everything seems to be ok i'm now getting regular random beeping?? the motherboard is a MSI 6195.
thanks in advance for any help in solving this annoying problem!
 04/05/2004 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawke
Member

Posts: 133
Joined: 12/21/2003

Hello,

If you installed the processor on your own, have you checked if the hsf was placed correctly? Did you put thermal grease? What are your temps? Could be that your board is telling you its overheating.
 04/06/2004 03:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adparker
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/04/2004

hi, thanks for your reply. the processor was bought second hand with the heat sink and fans already attached so i would guess that thermal grease had already been applied. wouldn't performance be affected if there was a heat problem?? both fans are working and everything seems ok so i don't know if there is an overheating problem, how do i check the temperature?? thanks
 04/06/2004 06:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Minuteman
Member

Posts: 45
Joined: 12/15/2003

Do you mean that you have beeps even if you are in Windows? If this is the case you probably just have a too weak power supply (a friend had exactly the same problem). Which power do you have?

-------------------------
:: www.alphatek.info :: x86 CPU history and tech articles.

 04/06/2004 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adparker
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/04/2004

yep, it beeps on start up and in Windows though doesnt appear to affect performance as far as i know. Is there a way of checking this? Regarding the power supply, CPU Voltage selection is 1.80 V and CPU temperature is 43C, is this ok?? ! The processor is suitable for the motherboard so surely there shouldnt be a problem?
 04/06/2004 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Minuteman
Member

Posts: 45
Joined: 12/15/2003

You can read the power on the power supply directly..should be something between 200W and 300W I think... The MINIMUM for an Athlon system should be 250-300W.

-------------------------
:: www.alphatek.info :: x86 CPU history and tech articles.

 04/06/2004 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adparker
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/04/2004

i imagine there would be no problem with the power as its powered directly from the mains or am i misunderstnading what you're saying?? i had no probs at all with my Athlon 600 MHz processor so its unlikely to be the problem
 04/06/2004 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003


Inside your computer case is a small metal box that has various connectors, it is a switching power supply for PC's, that has a plug that plugs into the wall socket "mains".

On the side of the switching power supply should be a sticker with voltages like:
3.3V, 5.0V, 12.0V. And by each voltage there should be a current capacity for each voltage. There should also be a reference to how much power in "watts" it can put out.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/06/2004 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adparker
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/04/2004

ok, the details on this box are as follows.....

250 Watt Power Supply

Input: 100V - 127V/6A 60HZ
200V - 240V/3.5A 50HZ

Output: +3.3V +5V +12V -12V -5V +5VSb
Max(A) 14A 26A 9A 0.8A 0.5A 1A
+3.3 & 5V Total Output 130W

is this ok???
 04/06/2004 01:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE +3.3 & 5V Total Output 130W

It's quite low..You may want to try a 300W powersupply, it should bring up your +3.3 & 5V Total Output, try finding one that has +3.3 & 5V Total Output of 150-180W. I have a 250 and it works fine but I have a bare minimum of components inside my computer, and the +3.3 & 5V Total Output is higher than 130W.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/06/2004 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adparker
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/04/2004

would just a change in processor result in the need for a power supply upgrade when it was working perfectly ok before the cpu upgrade??
 04/06/2004 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Sometimes yes sometimes no...Any chance you could borrow a power supply from a friend that has a higher power rating, that way the power supply issue will be void.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information