AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: dumb person
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/08/2004 06:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/08/2004 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
musclehavoc
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/08/2004

my pc does not boot or reboot anymore ....... constantly freezes up ..... either mouse or screen about every 30 to 60 mins .... I have a 1100 Athlon Motherboard and CPU assemble .....processor .... 1100 Athlon ..... need any more information ????and it is a Gatway PC
 04/10/2004 12:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

it could possibly be a heating problem,if you dont mind the trouble take the cover of and check the heatsink for dust.it could also be a bad power suply

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 04/26/2004 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rob.rice
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/26/2004

QUOTE (musclehavoc @ Apr 8 2004, 02:38 PM) my pc does not boot or reboot anymore ....... constantly freezes up ..... either mouse or screen about every 30 to 60 mins .... I have a 1100 Athlon Motherboard and CPU assemble .....processor .... 1100 Athlon ..... need any more information ????and it is a Gatway PC
what O/S are you running (or trying to run in this case ) ?
if it's some version of windows you may need to reinstall ( the olny fix in most cases for boot problems with windows)
if it's linux you may need to boot from a boot disk and rerun grub or lilo
did you try a boot disk of some type ?
this may be a software problem (something easly fixed)
 04/28/2004 06:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
newfan
Senior Member

Posts: 614
Joined: 01/05/2004

Hi it could be a virus in you're pc if it has never happened before then I would think it some kind of virus. Or maybe it is a heat problem open up the side of the case and ether use a compressed can of air or use a vacuum cleaner to clean out the dust. But if you use the vacuum cleaner don’t touch the PCs components in any way.

-------------------------
E6300 @ 2.91GHz | 2GB Geil DDR2 6400 | DFI Crossfire 975X | HD2900XT | Audigy 2 ZS | DVD Multi RW | Logitech Z-5500 | MX510 & Logitech KB | Belinea 22" Wide | Lian Li PC-7 Black | Tagan 580W PSU
 04/28/2004 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Open the computer case up, if its dusty and dirty inside, then clean it our with a can of compressed air.

How long has the operating been installed in your machine? Sometimes you just need format and re-install the operating system. The rescue disk that came with the PC should do that...although it is usually not a full copy of the OS..Just backup all important information before doing it.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information