AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: overclocking k6-2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/17/2004 01:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/17/2004 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blackhawkfire
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/17/2004



I changed the dip switch settings on my shuttle hot 597 motherboard according to the silkscreened tables on the motherboard from a cpu speed of 83 to a 95 while leaving the 4.5 voltage unchanged. I presume I was increasing clock speed of the cpu from aprox 370 (83 X 4.5) to 415(95 X 4.5) megahertz. Part and parcel of this change were a change in AGP and PCI ratings from 55 and 27 to 63 and 31 respectively. Suffice it to say these alterations mean nothing to me other than numbers and parts.
A few years ago I upgraded the heatsink and fan to handle more heat and figured the above step up in speed would cause a negligible heat increase.
The silkscreened tables are dedicated to the dip switches, the first to 1- 3 and a jumper setting (JA26). Inasmuch as the change in these switches bore the same jumper setting, I left the jumper setting pin as it was. The second table concerns dip switches 4-6 and a jumper setting for DRAM Clock(JP9). No change was imagined necessary to either the dip switches here and I reasoned, correctly not, to the JP9 jumper pin.
The net result when the computer was turned back on was a blank screen.
Any guidiance or source dealing with this in laymen's language would be appreciated. In Quandry's grip,
Bradley
 04/23/2004 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

blackhawkfire,

Since you dont say which CPU you are working with, only what it WAS set at (the 4.5x83.3 = 375MHz), and that makes it very hard for anyone to guesstimate what it might be capable of.
There were 300MHz, 333MHz, 350MHz, and 380MHz versions. LMK which one you have, Okay?
I expect that you have a 300MHz version, which the previous owner of your confuser overclocked to 4.5x83.3 = 375 and you've simply tried to 'push' it farther than it's willing to go.
I have a K6-2 300 here that is quite happy at 4.5x83.3 = 376, and it will do 4.0x100 = 400 MHz, but it isn't 100% stable at 400.
It was good enough to hold still long enough for a 'pretty picture' though...



-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information