AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1.4mhz processor boots at 638mhz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/06/2004 09:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/06/2004 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobsmithbobsmith
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/06/2004

hello,

i've been having trouble now for some time regarding a processor from AMD that is a 1.4mhz processor. yet, it is booting at 638mhz. sometimes it will simply boot to the normal speed. however, most of the time, after rebooting or installing new software, it boots back to a lower speed.

does anyone recognize this situation and can you provide advise? let me know if you have any questions. the processor is AMD 1.4 and the mother board is ASUS.

thanks.
 09/11/2004 02:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi Bob,

That's a rather unusual problem, but not unheard of.

Knowing which model of Asus mobo you are using might be helpful.
Run Everest Home Edition from http://www.lavalys.com/product...ew.p...ang=en&pageid=1' ">http://www.lavalys.com/product...pid=1&lang=en&pageid=1
Or, SiSoftware Sandra 2004 from http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/in...?dir...all&langx=en&a=' ">http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/in...are_dl_all&langx=en&a=
Either one will give you some information about which motherboard you really have installed in there.

Also, knowing exactly what it is running at, when it does boot at 638MHz, would definitely help.
Run WCPUID, or CrystalCPUID, (both are free programs), to get all the pertinent details about what CPU you actually have in there, and what speed it's currently running at...
Make a note of the L2 cache, the multiplier, and the Family - Model - Stepping ID...
From that info, we can figure out exactly what it is you have, and what it should be running at.
WCPUID is available from this page... http://www.h-oda.com/' ">http://www.h-oda.com/
CrystalCPUID is available on this page... http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en' ">http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information