Increase font size
Topic Title: Won't even power up
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/12/2004 02:30 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/12/2004 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marker0077

First of all, I've been building computers for at least 10 years now so I pretty much know my way around the hardware & software but I figured it couldn't hurt to give the forums a shot, so here I am...

The board is an EP-8KTA, the chip is a AUD Duron 900. I hooked up just the necessities which is the RAM, video card, processor, power, cooler fan power, & the power switch - won't fire up at all, the fan wouldn't turn even for a second. The RAM & video card were tested elsewhere so I know those work fine, the processor & board however I can not test considering I do not have any other chips or boards to do that kind of testing.

Now with most boards, there are 3 things that I need to set up for the processor...The mhz setting (50, 60, 66, 100, 166, etc; etc.).The multiplier for the mhz.The voltage.With this board however, there is only the voltage & the mhz setting, there's no multiplier which I'm not used to but I'm guessing that it is set along with the voltage. I've gone through the manual a few times on this & there is no multiplier listed there either.

So that's my dilemma, I can't get the board to power up & was curious if any of you out there in AMD land had any advice for me. Your time is appreciated either way, thanks.
 03/12/2004 03:57 PM

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

The Multiplier will be autodetected. So will the core voltage.
You have the latest BIOS update right ?

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 03/13/2004 11:16 AM

Author Icon
Marker0077