Increase font size
Topic Title: City of Heroes MMORPG, Intel making AMD look bad
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/07/2004 05:49 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/07/2004 05:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcat73

I'm a huge fan of AMD processors. Ever since I switched to them almost 8 years ago now, I haven't had reason to look back...except occasionally due to support for Intel chips where AMD support lagged behind.

Mostly, the support for AMD has been a case of Microsoft showing more compiler or instruction-set love for Intel than for AMD.

Recently, I started playing the City of Heroes online game. To my dismay, the game client appears to support hyperthreading Intel cpu's quite nicely. So much so that when one owns 2 game accounts, the game smoothly runs two instances of the game client on an Intel HT-enabled Pentium. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of such support for AMD-enabled systems.

As confirmed with NC Soft tech support (the publishers of the game), Intel ht-enabled systems support 2-client-on-one-system gameplay. Since I'm a loyal owner of AMD CPU's and don't want to switch to an Intel CPU and motherboard, I'm currently out of luck. I really love my Athlon XP-2800+. If you have experience trying to get an Athlon to support multiple app balancing, equivalent to what Intel's hyperthreading offers, I'd be appreciative to hear your success stories.

Perhaps you've found registry changes, OS-specific patches (running Windows XP Professional SP2), or even 3rd-party utilities to show your AMD-enabled system that it too can do everything those pesky ht-Pentiums can do.